Southern Seafood Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I really like this recipe.. it's like a cheaters gumbo... fast, easy and delicious. I used Spicy Clamato juice instead of v8 plus I add a can of clams. Only in Canada you say ? pity !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
It was a little sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Made this recipe for my family and everyone loved it. Easy to make and tastes great. I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This gumbo is really good. The only change I made was that I added about 2 tablespoons of cajun seasoning, a few dashes of hot sauce and 1/2 pound of small scallops. Me and my husband love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Yummy! Super quick, so healthy and tastes great. I use a pound package from Trader Joe's that has a combo of shrimp, scallops and calamari. We served it over some quinoa. I have made it twice so far and it is now a regular in our menu rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This was very tasty!! I didn't have high hopes- but it wasn't from the recipe. I had some poor quality frozen catfish that I was only hoping to make edible. This recipe was simple and delicious. I used a cast iron dutch oven, and made a roux(I like things thick :). I loved that V8 even made it heathier. I'll be sneaking that in more often...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I loved this meal and so did the medic station I cooked it for. I did add a little more celery, yellow and red peppers to this and some scallops and crab. Overall I was more than happy with it and so was the EMs staff that ate it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
My family loves Cajun style food, so I was looking forward to making this gumbo. We found the flavour to be very average. For us to really enjoy it, I would need to make substantial changes and it would no longer be "this" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Very Authentic!! I did make changes, purely due to personal preferece and availability! I made a Roux' first b4 sauteing veg. I used Shrimp and Andouille Sausage, omitted the Catfish and Okra. I also used Rotel (tomatoes & green chiles) instead of just tomatoes. Husband and 3 boys LOVED it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kalona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I substituted the Catfish with Halibut as I brought alot back from Alaska. This is a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States