Southern Seafood Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I really like this recipe.. it's like a cheaters gumbo... fast, easy and delicious. I used Spicy Clamato juice instead of v8 plus I add a can of clams. Only in Canada you say ? pity !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny Duke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
It was a little sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Made this recipe for my family and everyone loved it. Easy to make and tastes great. I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This gumbo is really good. The only change I made was that I added about 2 tablespoons of cajun seasoning, a few dashes of hot sauce and 1/2 pound of small scallops. Me and my husband love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Yummy! Super quick, so healthy and tastes great. I use a pound package from Trader Joe's that has a combo of shrimp, scallops and calamari. We served it over some quinoa. I have made it twice so far and it is now a regular in our menu rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This was very tasty!! I didn't have high hopes- but it wasn't from the recipe. I had some poor quality frozen catfish that I was only hoping to make edible. This recipe was simple and delicious. I used a cast iron dutch oven, and made a roux(I like things thick :). I loved that V8 even made it heathier. I'll be sneaking that in more often...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I loved this meal and so did the medic station I cooked it for. I did add a little more celery, yellow and red peppers to this and some scallops and crab. Overall I was more than happy with it and so was the EMs staff that ate it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
My family loves Cajun style food, so I was looking forward to making this gumbo. We found the flavour to be very average. For us to really enjoy it, I would need to make substantial changes and it would no longer be "this" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Very Authentic!! I did make changes, purely due to personal preferece and availability! I made a Roux' first b4 sauteing veg. I used Shrimp and Andouille Sausage, omitted the Catfish and Okra. I also used Rotel (tomatoes & green chiles) instead of just tomatoes. Husband and 3 boys LOVED it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kalona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I substituted the Catfish with Halibut as I brought alot back from Alaska. This is a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States