Southern Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
This is the first red velvet cake I have made. I made it for my husband's birthday and was hoping for a great cake. Unfortunately, even after adding in some oil, since a lot of reviews claimed it was so dry, it was still dry and dense. The tops and edges were a bit hard/crunchy. I cooked it at a little lower heat and did not overcook. Not sure what went wrong here - if it was the recipe, or me. Also, I think it has too much of a chocolate taste. It is basically red chocolate cake. Something is missing for the true red velvet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
i like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Soooo disappointed!!!! The frosting looks like oatmeal and yes I thoroughly chilled and whipped it. I was able to salvage it by adding about 3 cups of sifted powdered sugar and 3/4 cup of sifted dark cocoa. The positive is that my family said it was very creamy frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
What makes an exceptional Red Velvet Cake is the frosting.This is what makes the cake,not a cream cheese frosting ( which by the way I love) So if you see a recipe for the R.V.C. with cream cheese for the frosting, run hard and fast!! This is the ONE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I have been looking for this recipe since my mom died. I'm going to make it today. I just hope its taste like my moms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Best Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This was ok. The actual cake part was really good, and it was pretty moist, but I followed the recipe exactly, and the frosting came out really watery. The cake just absorbed it and it ended up soggy. Not pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Very bland and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
My son requested red velvet for his birthday. I searched several recipes and ran across this one. YUMMY!! We decorated with white chocolate shavings. Everything was delicious - cake was moist, icing was not your typical sweet-icky. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This is an exceptionally moist and tasty cake that I liked even better than the red velvet cupcakes at our most esteemed cupcake shop in town. I really think that the success lies in the method... follow it exactly and it will turn out. I read the other reviews and made sure to really cream the butter and sugar well (adding air helps with leavening) and was very careful not to over-mix once I started adding flour. And that vinegar and baking soda combo... loved it. But you have to work fast! The frosting was a very interesting change from cream cheese frosting... I like both, so whatever suits your mood and taste. Again, though, the method was critical, and it took me 10 minutes of beating the butter and sugar together to get rid of the grainy-ness. The result, however, was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States