Southern Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
This is a beautiful and delicious cake. MAKE SURE you let the flour,salt, milk mixture for the frosting COOl COMPLETELY!!! before you add the remaining butter etc. or it will curdle. Done right this frosting makes the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I have been making this recipe for many years, and it great. The version I have varies in that the flour mixture for the frosting cools to just barely lukewarm, instead of cooling completely. It's tricky, but it helps avoid small pasty lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Harpy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I only used the recipe for the frosting/icing...I used the frosting/icing for the Strawberry Cake from Scratch ( from Allrecipe). Had rave reviews from family!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
So much better than the cream cheese icings that other recipes on here use!! The icing on this cake is what makes the cake! The icing is tricky but if you simply let the mixture completely cool as stated it turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This cake was very dry and not what I expected out of a red velvet cake, which to me a red velvet cake is a very moist, rich cake. The only thing that saved this was the "basic cream chess frosting" from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Maybe I did something wrong but this didnt really taste like what I was expecting. It was a bit off and kind of dry. I just wasn't into it. Maybe it was because I didn't have any butter extract. I tried to use butter flavor shortening to make up for it whenever I could but that didn't do much. Actually, I think that's what made the frosting taste kinda gross. Shortening in frosting?? Is that normal?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
The cake was delicious! I made it several times. I used apple cider vinegar instead because that was all I had on hand. The frosting, on the other hand, was gross. Maybe it was because I used butter-flavored shortening. I used cream cheese icing the second time aorund.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovethislife!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dresden, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
The cake was good but my family did not care for the frosting. Still looking for the perfect Red Velvet cake recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I give this one a 3 because after all the prep time, which was very time consuming...it turned out dry & the icing was just too "greasy". Everyone liked it but even sealed up from the air, it got even drier the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joni Lawter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blacksburg, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Chesnee, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
The frosting makes the cake. It was the same cake my mother made for me every year on my birthday. I took a short cut and used the Red Velvet cake mix and no one knew, delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States