Southern Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Elizabeth Golding
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Hi all...I just made this cake this morning for my son's boyscout bake sale. This cake is awesome and so easy! The frosting is one of the best I've ever tasted...I didn't have any problems with it at all. I totally recommend the cake and frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Golding

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Wrangell, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I made this cake and it was dry. I baked it in two 9" cake pans and left out the butter extract. I had to bake it a little longer than directed. I also don't think there is enough red coloring in it. The frosting was really good. I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
We used the frosting recipe since there was a (gasp) box mix in the house. We will make this cake from scratch next time, and try letting the flour/milk cool all the way. I think it took a lot of creaming to get the frosting de-lumped because flour/milk paste was not all the way cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Southern? This recipe comes the Waldorf Astoria Hotel in New York.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Wonderful recipe. The frosting absolutely makes this cake!! If you don't have butter flavored extract, don't make a special trip to buy it because I didn't think it added anything to the cake. I also used paste food coloring (comes in little jars, made by Wilton, buy at a hobby shop) because liquid can affect the taste. Make sure you only mix the cake ingredients until just mixed together, overmixing will dry it out! Beat your frosting for a while, it needs to be whipped very well to get the right consistency. Finally, I always make my own buttermilk by adding a teaspoon or so of white vinegar to my milk, and let it sit for about 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This is an excellent red velvet cake. The only thing I did different is I used about 1-1.5 oz. of food coloring because I like my red velvet cake really red. This cake has a nice light chocolate flavor and great texture. A little chewy without being too dense. For those of you who complained the cake was dry you may being using too much flour. Make sure you are not scooping the flour into the cup but spooning it in and leveling the cup. Keep the flour light by sifting. This also makes it easier to incorporate into the batter without overmixing and thus creating higher gluten levels = overly dense cakes that dry out. If you live in a dry climate add an extra egg yolk and a T. of oil to keep your cake moist. This is a southern cake and it is very humid in the south. They don't worry about anything drying out :) Also, you must really whip the butter/sugar/eggs till they are really fluffy and airy. I add eggs one at a time and then just let it keep going. As for the frosting I must admit I did use all butter and it is excellent. I just kept whipping it until it was not longer gritty. The butter was very soft so this didn't take too long. I also found it to be very thick. I didn't want to use milk to thin it because I wasn't sure if it would make the whole thing colapse. I used 2 heaping tablespoons of sour cream and that make it spreadable. This is an excellent recipe if you have the patience to make it. This is not a 123 cake so please don't try to rush it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Not a bad cake but I'm not a fair judge of this one. I don't care for Red Velvet cakes but my family does. They really like this one. The frosting will lump if you aren't careful and I find it takes 1 1/2 frosting recipes to adequately cover the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This was an exceptional cake. I am learning to use fondant, and you need a dense cake to hold up... at least I do, to the fondant application. You also want a great tasting cake. This one fits both the requirements. I dirty iced with a buttercream then used a home-made marshmallow fondant, and it was spectacular! The buttercream and fondant seal in the moistness of the cake, and it stay wonderful for some time. I made this one into a Sheet cake for a grooms cake. You will need to double the recipe if you want a single layer sheet cake from a 12"x16"x3" pan. To use a 9"x13"x2" pan, calculate for 24 servings or 1.5 times the amount for the ingredients listed. I used a Wilton cake leveler (not the exact name for it) to make the top nice and level for top layer to sit on. I like thick layers so the 24 serving recipe is a single 12"x16"x2"-2.5" layer. Wilton Cake release (no-stick spray) is a must. Many Walmart's now carry a great line of Wilton cake products!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Although I followed directions to a tee... the cake came out very dry.. I read in another reciepe to substitute the shortneing for a cup of oil and it would make the cake moist. The flavor is diffinately there just too dry. Also the frosting I believe could use less of the buttery taste kinda tastes greasy. I think that it could have used a little less shortning and/or the butter extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
This cake is good, but it's not very moist (and I prefer a moister cake). I did make a few substitutions though which could have caused the texture change such as using skim milk in place of buttermilk. I also was able to make 27 cupcakes out of this recipe (bake at 350 for about 22 minutes). I also used a slightly different cream cheese frosting recipe (1 brick of cream cheese, 1/2 stick unsalted butter, 4 cups powder sugar, 2 tsps vanilla, and 2 tbsp skim milk) My co-workers thought that they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheMadBaker313

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States