Southern Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
A HUGE hit with the family! I left out the liquid smoke, and added BBQ sauce (then put back in the oven for about 15 minutes). It had a nice "bite" to it. Everybody was surprised I was able to pull it off! Will definitely make this again. It would also be a great party dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I have made this recipe approximately 5 times and have always made it as written. The most recent time I made this dish I opted not to brown the meat or onion/garlic mixture. I just threw everything into the crockpot and let it cook. It turned out just as well as when I do brown the meat. I will continue to make this recipe, which I always pair with the Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce that can also be found on AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This was a great easy to follow recipe. I've only made it once. Once cooked I mixed it with one of our favorite BBQ sauces, reheated the mixture slowly and made sandwiches. They were a hit at the table. I want to try this with different BBQ sauces inlcuding a home made sauce. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
i dont know ,but this looks lovely and i will try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KENNETH MBENDERA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Delicious! Followed recipe except I put the onions on the bottom like someone suggested, and then mixed the rest of the ingredients together and poured it over the pork. Cooked on high for 4 hours and low on 4 hours and the pork fell apart. After shredding, I put the pork back in 1/2 the sauce mixed with some additional barbeque sauce. Awesome recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Just the type of pulled pork I was looking for..well seasoned, tender meat that the different tastes in my household can dress the way they want..my teenager loved it with colesaw and bbq sauce, and my wife with just the pork as is. a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I made this and my husband says this was one of THE best meals I have ever made. He loved it. I served it on soft rolls with bbq sauce. I substituted water with chicken stock for more flavor and served it with fresh coleslaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I used my own homemade cajun seasoning and I doubled the amount called for. I actually did what the recipe asked, I rubbed it on the roast before braising but I also sprinkled some over the ingredients in the crockpot before letting it go. Instead of water, I used beef broth. The boys ate this piled on hamburger buns with barbeque sauce while I ate mine as is (low carbin' it). Very VERY good. To say we loved this would be an understatement. I think using a homemade cajun seasoning was what made it so good (more flavor, less filler/salt) and the beef broth reallytook it over the top. This recipe's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Excellent! Super easy. I would serve this for company. The pork was very flavorful and tender. I made mine with 2.7 pounds pork tenderloin and 3c. water. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Will follow the recipe more closely next time. DO NOT take the suggestion to use cider vinegar as part of the liquid - or if you do, use a very small amount...unless you like caustic fumes coming from your pork. Also I cut pork roast into 4 good size pieces, browned and had covered with liquid in the crock pot, Cooked on high for 4.5 hrs - meat was very dry...trying to rescue it with bbq sauce.. Will try again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States