Southern Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Very easy, especially since I just tossed it all in the crockpot (no working kitchen at the moment). Tasted fine, but not enough seasoning for me. I had to add bbq sauce on my sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Great Recipe but I did tweak it after reading some other reviews. I sauteed the onion and garlic and braised the meat while the onion and garlic were cooking. I then added 2 cups of chicken stock instead of water to add more flavor. I then added chipotle barbeque sauce to the liquid in the crock pot. Other than that I did everything else the same. Easy and so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
These were VERY flavorful. The only thing we would change in the recipe is lessen the amount of Cajun seasoning. We had 3 lbs instead of 2 lbs of pork roast, but still approx. halved the amount of Cajun seasoning, anticipating the saltiness. It still was WAY too salty for us. I could only handle having one sandwich, and so could my father (who usually packs food away!). So I will use just 1/4 tablespoon of Cajun seasoning next time. Otherwise, fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Fabulous! This was so delicious that it was completely consumed. I was hoping for leftovers, but no such luck... now I buy a 3 lb. Boston butt so there is some leftover for lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I was really excited about making this given the reviews. However, I was so disappointed. I followed the recipe exactly. I put plenty of seasoning on the meat before browning, but the end result was bland shredded pork swimming in a pool of liquid. The directions said nothing about draining the liquid before returning the meat back to the crockpot after shredding it. Am I missing something?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandica8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
FANTASTIC! My kids loved it, my husband loved it, I loved it! I didn't have any cajun seasoning, so I used a pork rub that I had in my cabinet which had a little bite without being super spicy. I also used a pork tenderloin instead of a roast. Again, it happened to be what I had in the fridge. This was lovely without any barbecue sauce but would be easy to dress with it afterwards if you are inclined. I served it on crusty kaiser rolls with pickles and it was delicious. My mouth is watering again just thinking about it. We will definitely be having this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Heavenly!!! Having lived in the south for 10 years previously, I was delighted to find this easy slow cooker recipe. My husband raved and raved. Will cut back on the liquid smoke next time though...a little strong and add a little Worchestershire sauce. Great for leftovers and freezing too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Philipsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
The meat is so tender that it falls apart when taken out of the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I thought this was simple and great. I wanted a good basic recipe for pork tacos, and this definitely fit the bill. To boost the taco flavor, I opted to add two chipotles in adobo, chili powder, cumin, and mexican oregano instead of the cajun seasoning. I would also use this for pulled pork sandwiches...I agree with another reviewer that the whole point of the basic recipe is to allow you to add whatever sauce (sweet, vinegar, etc) AFTER the pork is finished and tender. That way, everyone can be satisfied regardless of their BBQ heritage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INTELLIBLONDE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Absolutely delicious! Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States