Southern Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Cut the liquid in half and used beef broth instead of water. It was so tender and juicy after cooking all day in the slow cooker. This was delicious served on buns with BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This was ridicugood!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Overall, very good if you like pulled pork. I didn't bother browning the pork first though. I seasoned it with "Cajun Seasoning Mix" from this site and added it to the slow cooker along with a bit of minced garlic. I left out the onion (personal perference when it comes to pulled pork). I've done a few "southern" pulled pork recipes and most call for cider vinegar vs. just water so I used 2 cups of apple cider vinegar and 2 cups of water. I let that go for 5 hours on low. I removed the meat and shredded it with two forks. I drained the liquid reserving 2 cups and put that back into the crock pot along with the shredded pork and then added 2 Tbsp. of liquid smoke. I also added a little brown sugar and cayenne pepper. I let that go for another hour on low. This is great topped with your favorite bbq sauce or try "White BBQ Sauce" from this site along with a side of coleslaw and cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
256 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
No need to sacrifice flavor for tenderness. By simply revving up the spice quotient and lessening the water (it's pulled pork, not pork stew), one is able to achieve both in this recipe. Still a decent recipe... better with enhancements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This recipe was a crowd pleaser. It satisfied the BBQ lovers and those that are not. I did not have cajun seasoning so I made up my own and it worked out just fine. I too used chicken broth instead of water and the pork was able to stand on its own with flavor. Will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I made this for dinner today...my family loved it! I skipped the browning in butter part. I seasoned the pork with southwest chipotle seasoning(what I had on hand), also used a bit more liquid smoke. I wrapped the seasoned pork in foil and placed in crockpot.I put enough water in crockpot to cover the bottom. Cooked on low overnight. It turned out perfect! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
sweet baby rays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheresaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Very moist and tasty. I browned my meat but forgot to season it with the cajun seasoning so I just added it to the pot. It adds a nice spice to it. I cooked mine around 5 hours and it was ready. I am not going to brown mine as long next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I didn't have cajun seasoning so I used a meat rub that I had on hand and I added a lot more garlic but maybe only 3 cups water. I did keep the onoin bits in with the pork for sandwhiches and it was great. Also is very nice served on cheesey kieser rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwenfron
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Amazing! The smells from the slow cooker travel through the house. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States