Southern Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I made this and my husband says this was one of THE best meals I have ever made. He loved it. I served it on soft rolls with bbq sauce. I substituted water with chicken stock for more flavor and served it with fresh coleslaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I used my own homemade cajun seasoning and I doubled the amount called for. I actually did what the recipe asked, I rubbed it on the roast before braising but I also sprinkled some over the ingredients in the crockpot before letting it go. Instead of water, I used beef broth. The boys ate this piled on hamburger buns with barbeque sauce while I ate mine as is (low carbin' it). Very VERY good. To say we loved this would be an understatement. I think using a homemade cajun seasoning was what made it so good (more flavor, less filler/salt) and the beef broth reallytook it over the top. This recipe's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Excellent! Super easy. I would serve this for company. The pork was very flavorful and tender. I made mine with 2.7 pounds pork tenderloin and 3c. water. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Will follow the recipe more closely next time. DO NOT take the suggestion to use cider vinegar as part of the liquid - or if you do, use a very small amount...unless you like caustic fumes coming from your pork. Also I cut pork roast into 4 good size pieces, browned and had covered with liquid in the crock pot, Cooked on high for 4.5 hrs - meat was very dry...trying to rescue it with bbq sauce.. Will try again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I made this for a white elephant party potluck. It was fantastic. Everyone loved it. The pork was wonderfully tender with a great flavor. I served it on smalle slider buns with BBQ sauce and coleslaw as toppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Delicious! Started with a great pork shoulder roast which makes all the difference. This was my first time making pulled pork and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Wow, wow, wow. This recipe is fantastic. It's a classic pulled pork not meant to be cooked in sauce. The smokey pork flavor is incredible. I just made this for super bowl and it was a hit! I tried plain and with a homemade tangy BBQ sauce. Great both ways, however, I think I ate most of it straight out of the crock pot :) I washed it down with a really hoppy IPA which complimented the pork really well. Oh ya, i think it's actually better the next day. Shred pork and let it sit in fridge for a day if you have time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Awesome flavor. I will say that 4 cups of water is not needed, I actually cooked it on low all night and then left top off for hours on high to cook out the liquid. Was perfect once the water cooked down. Next time will use 1 cup water. The kick was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Excellent recipe, and one of the only ones on this site that doesn't use barbecue sauce. I was surprised how flavorful the meat was for how little seasoning went in. I would definitely make this again. I checked the meat after 4 hours on high and it was done. So easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Best bbq recipe EVER...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmurphy09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States