Southern Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I just made this tonight for my family, it was a bit too spicy/hot for my kids, but i personally loved it. i may use less of the seasoning next time and definitely less water. but i give it 4 stars, just because the directions were vague, the liquid was way too much and boiled over my pot, and after shredding it didnt tell you what to do with the liquid. i emptied it and saved one cup, after shredding it, i poured the cup back into the pot to keep the moisture. other than that, it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Coppola

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Very good! Skipped the stovetop part and just put the roast right in the crockpot with some slices in it to allow the juices to get into the center parts of the meat. Didn't have liquid smoke so I used Worchestshire sauce. I cut back on the liquid a bit and it was still plenty, and substituted 12 ounces of beer for some of the water. It was good served as-is on potato buns, without any BBQ sauce, but that could be easily added. Made my own Cajun seasoning using the recipe on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Good stuff! The only change I made is I used beef stock instead of water and cut the amount in half. I also strain the liquids and cook them down to about half and add them back to the pulled pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Really good pulled pork, and simple too. I mess around with the spices, but this is my base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I made it pretty close to directions but used 2 cups of chicken broth and 2 cups water..also double the liquid smoke..big hit at my super bowl party. used small onion rolls and daves devils spit bbq just a little on each
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
The best pulled pork recipe on here! Taste exactly like the one my Godmother used to make when I was a kid. I will definitely by making this more often! Thank you to the originator!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
this seemed to cook MUST faster than I expected, but I think my crock pot cooks really fast. very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This recipe was fantastic. It is like the typical un-sauced pulled pork you get in bbq restaurants, but far more juicy! The meat was so tender, and had a rich savory flavor that went great on the buttered and toasted hamburger buns I served it with. I made this in my small crockpot (3qt or so), and thought there was too much liquid, but it was perfect. The only slight change I made to the recipe was to use cajun seasoning, because I did not have creole. I read the ingredients, and they matched up almost perfectly, though the recipe I saw for creole had some oregano, so I added that. I was pretty heavy handed in the seasoning dept, and I think that just added to the flavor. Also, when it was time to shred the meat, I removed all the loose bits and fat, along with about 1/2 the cooking liquid, before adding the shredded pork back to the pot. This made it easier to serve for me. This fed my family of 3, with anough left over for lunch for dad tomorrow. This is a good recipe for my family because I love bbq, but not the sauce, while my husband adores the sauce. This will be made frequently from here on out! Don't forget to brown the meat nicely, I think it lended a lot to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOM2AARON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeport, New York, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I usually do not give anything 5 stars. This was good. Simple and the meat goes with just about anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
We make this all the time and have never bothered with BBQ sauce, although that would be great too. We love it with au jus on pistolettes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherryL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States