Southern Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This recipe is great. I did make one substitution; instead of 4 cups of water I used 2 small cans of pineapple juice (12 ozs. total). This really adds a huge amount of flavor to the recipe and reduces the liquid to just the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Watertown, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This pork is superb. Added a bit more liquid smoke, some meat seasoning, all purpose seasoning, and some sea salt. Served with Slaw on onion rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djaurora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I don't like pork, but I LOVED this recipe. It is the Liquid Smoke, I think, that made it so delicious. I followed the recipe pretty close, but didn't cook the onions and garlic--just threw them in the crock pot. Think I'll make a pork roast next week using this recipe and adding potatoes and carrot and nixing the bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Merchant

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Very Good Flavor. I Put A Little Twist On It And Added One Can Of Green Chilli AndTwo Can Of Dark Red Kidney Beans And Served It Over Rice My Family Really Enjoyed It.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Loved it! Used 2 c cider vinegar in place of 2 c water. Used cajun seasoning from Winco bulk section - not so salty. Added bbq sauce on the sandwich. Had Coleslaw on the side. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I made this recipe EXACTLY as written and I though it was very good. SumBrenda is right. This is a recipe for making a very moist pulled pork in your slow-cooker to which you later add the BBQ sauce or seasonings of your choice. It doesn't have a great deal of flavor on its own, but it isn't meant to. Everyone in my family added their own favorite sauce to the little piles on their plates. I liked it best with a vinegar-based Carolina sauce. Of the base recipe, I would probably have added a little more liquid smoke. I ended up putting a quart-sized bag of it in the freezer after a meal of it on the day I cooked it. I saved some of the leftover liquid from the slow-cooker and put it in the fridge to solidify any fat and skim it off. I then used a bit of this jus in the freezer bag to keep the pork from drying out. Since the finished pork doesn't have a strong flavor, I think you could also easily turn this from southern BBQ to something Mexican with green chiles and additional spices. I'll definitely do this again, especially since it'll soon be too cold outside to cook a lot on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vikingprinsesse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
And I will do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I served this pulled pork for a party and everyone loved it! It was my first time making any kind of pulled pork and it was pretty easy. I made it the night before then re-heated in a crock pot for serving. Had the BBQ sauce on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This was a great recipe, my fiancee loved it and we definitely plan on making it again :) I did add extra smoke flavouring, and cut down abit on the water, but it all depends on your tastes :) Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I've made pulled pork in the crock-pot many times in many different ways, some more successful than others. This is up there in my top two favorites. It was a hit with the hubby too. It works really well for when you are serving to people who don't agree on sauce because it is not cooked in any so I can have my spicy southern and my husband can have his mustard based.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States