Southern Praline Pecan Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I made this cake, but used a spice cake mix and caramel apple frosting (which I believe is seasonal). It was a great cake. I think you could use any cake mix/frosting combination. Thanks for a simple, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Great cake. Very moist and dense. It's sweet, but not any sweeter than an iced cake. I didn't add the extra pecans and it was great as is. I'll have to try it again when I have pecans. I did decrease the oil as suggested and it was fine. It's heavy so it needs to cool before you attempt to remove it. I made it a second and third time with different cake mixes. Love it with a german chocolate cake mix! With dark chocolate it kind of lost the flavor of the pecans and coconut. I also was out of oil once and instead of using oil I used 3/4 cup of unsweetened applesauce. It was great! The cake turned out lighter and far less dense. The icing actually has a lot of oil in it already so the oil is really unnecessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I got this recipe from another site, the same ingredients and also added a frosting, butter pecan drizzle!!!!!!!!!!!!! try this, In small pot over med. heat melt 2 TBS. of butter, 1 14 oz condensed milk, and a half cup chopped pecans, when heated thorough, drizzle over cake and serve!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I followed this recipe minus the pecans(dnt like them) and it was pretty good. The only thing I didn't like was the coconut(dnt like) but the rest of my family really enjoyed it. Next time I'll try it with a caramel glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smilinbeauty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
i made this cake for a church homecoming celebration .i dont know what went wrong but it wouldnt come out of pan.Broke into a mess.it taste good but i couldnt use it for church .does anyone have a idea what i might have done wrong ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
cake crumbled when cutting. i used 12/10 suggestion to use buttermilk in place of water and 2/3 cup of oil. I do wonder what happened! SAM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Made this to spec except that I put ALL the pecans in the pan first rather than half in the cake. It came out perfectly moist, I didn't find it overly sweet at all, and it got hubby's stamp of approval though he isn't fond of coconut - he said its a keeper. It is rich, so I recommend small slices! So easy to make it will be a regular in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This is one of my favorite cakes: easy to make and DELICIOUS! I use yellow cake mix or chocolate cake mix as well the pecan cake mix - use what you have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
They no longer make the coconut pecan frosting in a container so how did you make the cake? I have been wanting to make the cake again but Betty Crocker has discontinued the frosting and I don't know what to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I made this for a Christmas party last year and have been asked to make it again this year. The only thing I changed was I used glazed pecans instead of plain ones. I made the night before and it had pleanty of time for cooling. There were NO leftovers! Even with 20 or more desserts for some 25 people to choose from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States