Southern Praline Pecan Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
My family loved this recipe! Mother in law even asked for the recipe and she hates to ask for anybody's recipes, lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
This recipe never turned out for me or my friend. I think it had too many liquids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
If you like German chocolate cake...this might be right up your alley!!! Cake-gasm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
My favorite... My daughter made it for my birthday and it's been my go to cake since. I use butter instead of oil and only half cup water and half cup sour cream. Sometimes I frost it as a layer cake sometimes I bundt pan it and sprinkle powdered sugar or a drip glaze on it. Rich and everyone thinks you worked hard in it. I'll never tell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This is delicious, but I did have a problem with it falling apart when it came out of the pan. I followed the recipe exactly as printed. I took the advice of another reviewer and let it cool completely before trying to remove from the pan but it still fell apart. This is so good, it's definitely worth trying again. Next time I'll use the suggestion of another reviewer and lower the oil/water amts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This recipe is so GOOD! Easy, moist and delicious! I did not bake mine in a bundt pan but made cupcakes. Then I made a sauce using 1 can of condensed milk, 2 Tablespoons of butter and 1/2 cup of chopped pecans. Heat on low and drizzle over cake slice or individual cupcakes. This recipe is addicting! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Point, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I made this cake, but used a spice cake mix and caramel apple frosting (which I believe is seasonal). It was a great cake. I think you could use any cake mix/frosting combination. Thanks for a simple, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Great cake. Very moist and dense. It's sweet, but not any sweeter than an iced cake. I didn't add the extra pecans and it was great as is. I'll have to try it again when I have pecans. I did decrease the oil as suggested and it was fine. It's heavy so it needs to cool before you attempt to remove it. I made it a second and third time with different cake mixes. Love it with a german chocolate cake mix! With dark chocolate it kind of lost the flavor of the pecans and coconut. I also was out of oil once and instead of using oil I used 3/4 cup of unsweetened applesauce. It was great! The cake turned out lighter and far less dense. The icing actually has a lot of oil in it already so the oil is really unnecessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I got this recipe from another site, the same ingredients and also added a frosting, butter pecan drizzle!!!!!!!!!!!!! try this, In small pot over med. heat melt 2 TBS. of butter, 1 14 oz condensed milk, and a half cup chopped pecans, when heated thorough, drizzle over cake and serve!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I followed this recipe minus the pecans(dnt like them) and it was pretty good. The only thing I didn't like was the coconut(dnt like) but the rest of my family really enjoyed it. Next time I'll try it with a caramel glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smilinbeauty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States