Southern Praline Pecan Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2001
very good! I thought it was a bit too moist, maybe too much oil. It was difficult to slice(crumbled)because of the moistness. Would try with half as much oil next time. I also could not find a butter pecan cake mix so I used a plain yellow mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2001
This cake is wonderful!!I read the reviews before making the cake. I cut down 1/4 cup on the water, but don't think I needed to. I made the cake the night before I needed it. I did not find the cake to crumble at all. Maybe the ones that did were not using a very sharp knife. This is definitely a recipe I will use again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2001
I made this cake for my husband's birthday last week, and he loved it!!! I asked if it was a "keeper" and he said - NO, it's an eater!!! I did mean recipe keeper. Others in my family came by and finished it off before the weekend. All said it was a great cake. I used a butter recipe cake mix (couldn't find a butter pecan mix) and only 2/3 cup of oil (after what other reviewers said about it being too crumblier. I will make this cake often - in fact I made another one for a dessert auction at church yesterday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2000
This recipe will be one of my family's favorites. It is superb right out of the oven. I haven't tasted as good a cake recipe than this in years; and so easy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2000
I have made this cake many times, and I have never served it to anyone that didn't rave about how delicious it was. All my friends at work and church love it! It's so easy and quick to fix! This cake is one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2001
I MADE THIS FOR A FRIEND AT WORK BIRTHDAY CAKE. I HAD THREE PEOPLE ASK FOR THE RECIPE. GOT MILK OR SOME GOOD COFFEE. GREAT TASTING CAKE AND SO MOIST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2001
I'm baker by hobby and I bake a lot of cakes for friends and for weddings. This is the best and easiest recipe I've tried; better than most scratch recipes. Everyone at work loved it AND at home! Beth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2001
THIS CAKE WAS A BIG HIT AT A WORK POTLUCK. IT WAS SOOOO MOIST!! IT WAS ALSO REALLY EASY TO PREPARE. I WILL DEFINATELY MAKE THIS AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2001
This recipe is definately a keeper. My husband said it was his favorite cake and he usually doesn't care for desserts. My whole family loves it and asks for it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2001
Had to go to 5 stores to find the butter pecan cake mix but it was worth it! Delicious and unique!! Definitely one of the best recipes you'll try. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States