Southern Praline Pecan Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2000
This recipe will be one of my family's favorites. It is superb right out of the oven. I haven't tasted as good a cake recipe than this in years; and so easy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2000
I have made this cake many times, and I have never served it to anyone that didn't rave about how delicious it was. All my friends at work and church love it! It's so easy and quick to fix! This cake is one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2000
I have to say that at first I questioned adding the frosting in with the batter prior to baking, but this cake is delicious. I've made it at least a half dozen times and someone always asks for the recipe! And talk about easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2001
Bar none, this is the best cake recipe I've ever made using cake mix. Very moist and just plain DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatStull

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bucklesberry, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2001
A good cake but not a knockout. Somewhat too sweet. It doesn't cut well and the slices are very crumbly due to the frosting in the batter, which makes it heavy and moist inside. It was fast and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2001
I MADE THIS FOR A FRIEND AT WORK BIRTHDAY CAKE. I HAD THREE PEOPLE ASK FOR THE RECIPE. GOT MILK OR SOME GOOD COFFEE. GREAT TASTING CAKE AND SO MOIST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2001
very good! I thought it was a bit too moist, maybe too much oil. It was difficult to slice(crumbled)because of the moistness. Would try with half as much oil next time. I also could not find a butter pecan cake mix so I used a plain yellow mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2001
I'm baker by hobby and I bake a lot of cakes for friends and for weddings. This is the best and easiest recipe I've tried; better than most scratch recipes. Everyone at work loved it AND at home! Beth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2001
I made this cake for my husband's birthday last week, and he loved it!!! I asked if it was a "keeper" and he said - NO, it's an eater!!! I did mean recipe keeper. Others in my family came by and finished it off before the weekend. All said it was a great cake. I used a butter recipe cake mix (couldn't find a butter pecan mix) and only 2/3 cup of oil (after what other reviewers said about it being too crumblier. I will make this cake often - in fact I made another one for a dessert auction at church yesterday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2001
THIS CAKE WAS A BIG HIT AT A WORK POTLUCK. IT WAS SOOOO MOIST!! IT WAS ALSO REALLY EASY TO PREPARE. I WILL DEFINATELY MAKE THIS AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States