Southern Praline Pecan Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
This is the best cake I have had in a long time. It supper easy to make and my family and friends like warm. Thank you for a great recipe. nancy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This cake is the "bomb"!!! I have made it many times and it always gets rave reviews. I think I could eat the whole thing myself!! I do reduce the oil to 1/2 cup but leave everything else the same. It turns out awesome!!! Update: I have many time and still get rave review. The latest thing that I've been doing is using a devils food cake mix with chocolate fudge icing. AMAZING!!!! I had several men in the office tell me how delicious it was and they usually don't make comments like that. Try it......you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I have made this cake on several occasions. It is always a hit and I have been asked for the recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I've made this for my family and they think it's the best cake I have ever made for them. I was telling my niece about it and she said she couldn't wait to get home for me to make her one. So I made this cake for my niece and sent it to her in Iraq and she said it was wonderful. This is just the best cake it is so moist. So easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Lonoke, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
This is a very simple cake to make and it tastes wonderful! I've made if several times now for family and friends. Follow the recipe exactly as it's written, doesn't need any subsitutions or changes. It's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
The taste is great BUT I must not have oiled my bundt pan enough as half of it stuck to the bottom. I too used 1/2 c oil & 3/4 c water. I only used 3/4 of the can of frosting and with the rest I added a little water, heated it some in the microwave and it made a glaze I could drizzle (over the hunks of cake that came out of my pan!). Glad I wasn't making it for company - I will try again with a well oiled bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
WOW WONDERFUL! Thank you so much for this recipe! After reading the other reviews I did take some advice I used 1/2C of applesauce instead of 3/4C oil and 3/4C water instead of 1C of water, I ground my pecans that went into the cake to help firm it a little bit without messing with this wonderful taste and added the chopped pecans to the top MMM-MMM-MMM. The cake alone is WONDERFUL but I added Hersheys dulce de leche to individual pieces and just a great compliment YUM! But by all means the cake can stand alone without any compliment. I love recipes that are worth adding to my family's cookbook to pass down and this is an heirloom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I love this recipe. I made it for my 76 yo Grandmother's birthday and was a huge hit. I followed the directions, with few tweaks. I used a little less icing in the batter and added a splash of vanilla flavoring, a splash of butter flavoring and a cup of crushed pecans. I also placed caramel bits in the bottom of my pan and sprinkled a handful on top of the batter before baking. I put a light caramel glaze on the top just before serving. Yum yum yum--smiles from all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Thank you Jody for recommending this a long time ago. I hadn't forgotten. This is a super easy and great tasting cake. It is what some others have said, a little crumbly and falls apart when you try to slice it but that doesn't take away from the taste. Thank you for posting the recipe Debbie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Divine! Like others, I had to cook a little longer. Took it to Easter dinner and there was none left. Very easy to make. I let it cool completely before removing from pan and it came out great. Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States