Southern Praline Pecan Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This cake is delicious! Some people think it looks unfinished and not ready to eat because it is unfrosted, but everyone who tries it knows it is just perfect as is. Excellent! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYKENNEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I made the cake just as the recipe calls for, no changes needed if this cake is cooled properly, it won't crumble and fall apart. This cake is best made the day before, allowed to cool for awhile, then placed in the fridge overnight. It will slice much better if refrigerated overnight. I drizzled caramel ice cream topping over it and sprinkled with chopped pecans right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This is a very easy and delicious cake! I microwaved a tub of cream cheese frosting and drizzled over the top. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
OH MY! I'd give this 50 stars, if I could! This is so good. We are traveling to visit our friend who loves Praline candies, in a week. My praline candies didn't turn out so good when I tried to make them before, so I figured I'd give this a try. I made a "test" cake today and it was delicious! I am so happy with the result! I followed the recipe exactly and I used Betty Crocker butter pecan cake mix and Betty Crocker Coconut Pecan Icing. I can't wait to make it for our friend next week. I hope he loves it as much as we do! Thank You, Thank You, Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M.Hooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I'm making this right now, I did 1/2C oil, 3/4C water, all I had were Xtra large eggs so I did 3. Also 3/4 of the frosting so as to leave some for the top of the cake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I followed advice of a few others. Left maybe 1/4 of the icing tub out of the mix and then microwaved it briefly to make a glaze out sorts at the end. Also cut oil down to 1/2 cup. We wanted to eat it before cooled, and I had no trouble cutting it, although it did crumble when trying to take bites. Yummy, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This is amazingly easy to make and delicious. I added a caramel glaze and it was perfect (made from brown sugar, butter and a little milk, heated to boiling to carmelize). This is a recipe I will surely repeat - I bought extras of the butter pecan cake mix b/c it can be hard to find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I have been using this recipe for years. Have been asked every time for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
It is so GOOD!! And, it is so simple!!! Have made several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Thompson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Good cake. EASY to make. I glazed with Caramel Frosting I from this site. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States