Southern Praline Pecan Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
It had a good flavor and was easy to make but it had a tendency to crumble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Odin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Excellent cake! Made it exactly as the recipe stated. Very moist! I did experience the crumbling as did my tasters (co-workers) but they all loved it. Wanted more. Will try a second time with the suggested decreases in oil & water. Very easy and bakes nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Very good cake with minimal work. Gets better after a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Elon, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I've used this recipe for years only used a yellow cake mix. It is dangerous, though, to eat a piece warm straight from the oven. Addictive!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I never review anything, although I try a lot of recipes, but I just have to say something about this cake. I baked this afternoon and didnt allow anybody to touch it until after dinner. All I can say is WOW. The cake is moist, flavorful, easy, economical, there is just so many reasons to make this. The only change I made was to use about 1/2 cup oil instead of whatever the recipe calls for. It didn't crumble on me, is perfect just the way it is, no need for icing, at least that was what my family said. Try it, you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Wow...I'll just echo what everyone else has said. This is WONDERFUL. The hardest part (I think) is finding Butter Pecan cake mix!! I can only find one store that carries it! Cake is moist, full of flavor and always receives rave reviews! I'm getting ready to make a couple to give as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This cake is delicious! Some people think it looks unfinished and not ready to eat because it is unfrosted, but everyone who tries it knows it is just perfect as is. Excellent! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYKENNEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I made the cake just as the recipe calls for, no changes needed if this cake is cooled properly, it won't crumble and fall apart. This cake is best made the day before, allowed to cool for awhile, then placed in the fridge overnight. It will slice much better if refrigerated overnight. I drizzled caramel ice cream topping over it and sprinkled with chopped pecans right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This is a very easy and delicious cake! I microwaved a tub of cream cheese frosting and drizzled over the top. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
OH MY! I'd give this 50 stars, if I could! This is so good. We are traveling to visit our friend who loves Praline candies, in a week. My praline candies didn't turn out so good when I tried to make them before, so I figured I'd give this a try. I made a "test" cake today and it was delicious! I am so happy with the result! I followed the recipe exactly and I used Betty Crocker butter pecan cake mix and Betty Crocker Coconut Pecan Icing. I can't wait to make it for our friend next week. I hope he loves it as much as we do! Thank You, Thank You, Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M.Hooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States