Southern Praline Pecan Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Absolutely Delicious!! I debated whether to make changes based on other reviewers, and decided to follow the recipe the first time. It was so amazingly most and perfect flavor! I was on a mission to find a close recipe to a bakery favorite of ours. The only changes I made were to divide the batter into 2- 9 inch pans and I made the "whipped cream cheese frosting" from this site. I put frosting in between the 2 layers and used the rest all over. Topped it with toasted pecans and it was PERFECT! The icing is a wonderful compliment!! PS: after 3 grocery stores, I found the butter pecan cake mix at Piggly Wiggly (if you live in the South)~ It's also sold on Amazon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This is an awesome recipe and has been a hit every time I have taken it to a function.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Mitchell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is a VERY good cake and easy to make. I couldnt find the Butter Pecan mix so I used the Pineapple mix and it was delicious! I also used a cup of milk instead of water and kept everything else the same. I made these for gifts last night and got 3 8x4 loaf pans out of one recipe and baked them for 60 minutes. I made the test recipe this past Saturday and it is still VERY moist. I havent had any problems with the cake crumbling. I did not frost it either-it doesnt need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris Whitworth Sheehan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I converted this for high altitude the first time I made and cooked at 375. It was the lightest cake I've ever had but too crumbly to eat with hands. Second time, I followed the instructions, still had issues but not as much. Next time I think I'll decrease the temp and then freeze. It's a great tasting cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Let me start off by saying if you are a cake mix snob, and even more importantly a canned frosting snob, as I am, do not turn your nose up on this recipe! It does not taste like it came from a box of cake mix nor a can of pre-made frosting. I have served this cake to dozens of people, all of who beg me for the recipe and then mouths hit the ground when I tell them what's in it. I just make a few minor changes from the original recipe, which is still great as-is. I use buttermilk in place of water which makes the cake super moist and rich, as if it needs more of that! And since I'm using buttermilk, which is heavier than water, I cut the oil back to 2/3 cup. I also omit the pecans that go in the cake pan as I dress this cake up later with butter-rum glaze and a spiced cream cheese frosting, garnished with lots of extra pecans. I also add a tsp. of rum flavoring into the cake batter. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish Bakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I've made this recipe for a few years now. Great for family dinners & potlucks. One of my "go to" cakes. Easy & relatively inexpensive. Love that there's no frosting to fuss with since it's baked in. I don't usually add the chopped pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I have made this cake several years, everyone loves it , and everyone wants the recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Awesome flavor for how simple it is! Family loved it. Very moist. Used a round spring-form pan..came out great. Turned the heat down to 325 degrees for the last 20 minutes to ensure it would't burn before the center was done as per some other reviews, it turned out perfectly. Used a light vanilla glaze over the top as we have a strong sweet tooth in my family. :) It's good straight away but it's absolutely divine the next day!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I used all the ingredients in this recipe, but changed it up and baked it in a 9 x 13 pan. I had 3 bananas that were ripe. I mashed those up and put them in the cake mixture in place of the frosting. I reduced the oil to 2/3 cup. I frosted it with the coconut pecan frosting. It was perfectly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYLVIA46

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Have made several times- SO yummy and delicious!! A staple in my recipe collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States