Southern Praline Pecan Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This cake is moist and delicious ! Made it last night to bring to work for a Birthday celebration and it was very good. I didn't change a thing with the recipe and I used an instant Vanilla glaze on top. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This is a fantastic cake. On the advice of a friend, I added 1 dry box of french vanilla pudding mix and 1 cup sour cream. The result was a more dense, compact cake. Super! And the more pecans you add, the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This is one of the easiest recipes out there and the cake tastes amazing!!! I made a glaze out of powdered sugar, water and baileys. Everybody LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
top this with the Carmel Frosting VI like other user suggested.. THIS CAKE IS AWESOME! FAST ~ EASY~AND everyone i have made this for just loves it.. some with icing some without.. it is great either way...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Excellent cake!! Very surprised this doesn't have more reviews. Very unique and different from the usual box cake recipes. Only thing I did different was baked in a 9 x 13 pan and frosted with homemade cream cheese frosting. Note: Hard to find cake mix, but I finally did find at my local Walmart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
A big hit! A welcome change from the typical birthday cake at adults only birthday party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Amazing recipe!! This is my husband's favorite dessert. Trying chopping up the entire cup of pecans to mix in and make cupcakes- makes perfect portions and turns out much nicer than the cake. For a decorative presentation put one dot of cream cheese icing topped with a pecan half :) crowed pleaser every time and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I just made this cake this morning. Awesome, moist, flavorful. Needs no frosting, but next time I make this I will try adding Butter Pecan Frosting . Followed the recipe to a "T" let cool completely in bundt pan , and had no problems with it falling apart. Thanks for sharing such an easy and flavorful cake. Will definately make and share this cake recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Cox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Followed the recipe to a tee and it was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I try to make a recipe as written the first time, then make adjustments to suit my family, but the store did not have the butter pecan cake mix. I used a regular yellow cake mix and it was delicious! I did prepare the pan with spray and flour and let it cool in the pan overnight. It flipped right out with only one small blemish that a dusting of powdered sugar would hide. I brought the cake to work with me where it quickly became breakfast instead of afternoon snack. It was moist and dense. And served very well as a cold cake. No glaze needed! That is where it would get overly-sweet. Face it, it is a dessert! I would like to try the recipe again with other flavor cake mixes, because it would work well with more flavors than one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Nuccio Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States