Southern Praline Pecan Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Doesn't get any easier than this! This is a great recipe to have on hand for unexpected company. My guests and family really liked this cake-very moist! Next time I'll be sure to have some ice cream on hand as I think they would go great together :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Cake was very crumbly when cutting to serve and it tasted a little bland. I'll salvage the rest by using the crumbles for ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Nothing spectacular and not worth making again - very sweet. I pretty much followed the recipe except for the pecans. It crumbled apart when I went to take it out of the bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Boston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Incredible just as it is. I always get rave reviews. Last week, I changed it a bit and received EVEN MORE positive comments. I reduced the oil to 2/3 cup, and instead of water, I added 1/2 cup buttermilk and 1/2 cup Southern Comfort Liquor. After baking, I used an ice pick to poke holes, and made a glaze. 1/2 c butter,1/2 c Southern Comfort, and 1/2 c sugar..then very slowly over the course of about an hour, I drizzled this over the cake. I let it sit for a day, the, took another can of coconut/pecan frosting and mixed in Southern Comfort to make it the consistency that would allow me to pour over the cake (but not too thin as it should stay on the cake). AMAZING is all I can say...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This recipe is a keeper. Smells wonderul when it's in the oven!! I baked it in a 9x13 pan. I used the Caramel VI icing recipe that I got off this website too. I poked holes in the cake and then poured the icing over it. WOW! This pairs well w/vanilla ice cream. The cake disappeared! lol I had no problems w/the cake crumbling like some other reviewers had-maybe b/c I left the cake in the pan??? I didn't use as many pecans as the recipe called for b/c I'm not a big fan of alot of nuts in cake. I will definitely use this recipe again. I had several requests for this recipe! I highly recommend anyone to try this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmoles16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westport, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I have given this recipe to at least 10 or more people.It's easy and good. I frost mine with a can of coconut-peacan frosting. Try it this way. I use 2 cans in the cake-- one can frosting on top and one can frostong in the cake So GOOOOOOOOOOOOD !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
just made this today for a potluck at work. It tastes absolutely wonderful! However, it didn't come out of the pan very well, so i am only taking half to work. I think I didn't let it cool long enough, but its okay. i will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I made this recipe, then made cake-pops with it. Yummy. Making again today
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This cake is moist and delicious ! Made it last night to bring to work for a Birthday celebration and it was very good. I didn't change a thing with the recipe and I used an instant Vanilla glaze on top. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This is a fantastic cake. On the advice of a friend, I added 1 dry box of french vanilla pudding mix and 1 cup sour cream. The result was a more dense, compact cake. Super! And the more pecans you add, the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States