Southern Praline Pecan Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
cake crumbled when cutting. i used 12/10 suggestion to use buttermilk in place of water and 2/3 cup of oil. I do wonder what happened! SAM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Made this to spec except that I put ALL the pecans in the pan first rather than half in the cake. It came out perfectly moist, I didn't find it overly sweet at all, and it got hubby's stamp of approval though he isn't fond of coconut - he said its a keeper. It is rich, so I recommend small slices! So easy to make it will be a regular in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This is one of my favorite cakes: easy to make and DELICIOUS! I use yellow cake mix or chocolate cake mix as well the pecan cake mix - use what you have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
They no longer make the coconut pecan frosting in a container so how did you make the cake? I have been wanting to make the cake again but Betty Crocker has discontinued the frosting and I don't know what to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I made this for a Christmas party last year and have been asked to make it again this year. The only thing I changed was I used glazed pecans instead of plain ones. I made the night before and it had pleanty of time for cooling. There were NO leftovers! Even with 20 or more desserts for some 25 people to choose from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I made this cake yesterday and must say, it's one of the best cakes I've ever baked. You won't be disappointed if you try this recipe....it's perfect as written (and stupendous topped with Caramel Glaze). My Honey doesn't like most cakes, but he has eaten 5 slices of this one! Definitely one of the best recipes I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I made this in two 9" layers, frosted with homemade buttercream frosting, then topped with toasted coconut and toasted pecan pieces. I received Lots of compliments. It look great and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
This cake is fantastic Ive been making it for the last 6 yrs. It won first place in a cake contest I was in everyone loves this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Amazing and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
This is my "go to" cake. It always gets great reviews and requests for the recipe. I omit the pecans that go into the pan and use a glaze. I've also made this as a birthday cake with cream cheese frosting. Delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States