Southern Pimento Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
I didn't have any onion powder but this pimento cheese is still delicious! I did use Worcestershire sauce and added a splash of lemon juice. I read lemon juice in the ingredients of a locally made pimento cheese and decided to throw some in. I confess I don't do a lot of measuring except in baking so the only ingredient I used exactly as instructed is cream cheese. This is good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
OMG, this ruled. Left out pepper due to a bunch of light weights who are heat challenged. Next time will add Serrano peppers to crank it up. I'm hosting a double whiskey in your honor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
a bit strong for our taste buds. If I make in the future I am going to leave out the cayenne, and jalapeno pepper. I'm either going to lessen garlic to 1/8 tsp or completely omit the garlic and onion. use sharp cheddar, 3/4 cup mayo, 1/4 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by watkinsfamilyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
This did not taste like the traditional pimento cheese so I was somewhat disappointed. Maybe it was the cream cheese or the garlic powder that gave it an off taste. Sorry but I will not make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
I've never made my own pimento cheese before this recipe and now I'll never buy it pre-made again. Based on what I had at home I substituted 6 ounces of non-fat Greek yogurt and 2 ounces of jalapeno cream cheese for the 8 oz. plain cream cheese. I didn't have a fresh jalapeno but substituted 2.5T of chopped jalapeno from a jar. Finally, 2 cups of cheese didn't seem enough. I ended up using 1 C of shredded pepper jack and 4 C of shredded sharp cheddar. All other proportions remained the same. The end result is fantastic. The only problem is that it has an addictive quality that forces us to use our will power to make it last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
So easy and so delicious! Could not stay out of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
This is a great recipe as-is. The extra-sharp cheddar makes a difference. My preference is to add a splash or two of Worcestershire sauce or sriracha. A variation of the recipe (with a little kick) is to replace one cup of cheddar cheese with pepper jack cheese. Have you ever made grilled pimiento cheese sandwiches? Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Barker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Perfect recipe! I made it as written but left out the optional peppers. I also added 1 tsp of the pimento liquid back in for the extra flavor. I use the whipped cream cheese since it is more spreadable. Is now a regular item in my fridge! No way I could ever eat store bought again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Elledge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I used Chef Paul's Redfish Magic instead of cayenne, salt and pepper. I didn't have jalapeños either! But it's still amazing! Especially with cracked pepper and olive oil triscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Yummy!!!!!! This is truly brilliant Pimento Spread!! Sooo Delish! I feel tweaking it slightly with 1/2 tsp onion pwdr and 1/4 tsp white sugar plays up the sweetness of the pimento and, using white pepper, lets the cayenne ring true.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nessiegrrl78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States