Southern Pecan Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
I've been trying for years to find a recipe to duplicate "Edward's Pecan Pie", which is my favorite and which I can no longer find in the market; this is very close. It has that smooth buttery flavor - a filling that doesn't over power the pecans, but compliments them. I made it to take to a party and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
This is a great pecan pie recipe, however I would not recommend going with a store bought pie crust it comes out much better with the crust recipe listed plus it is much tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
I'm from England and I made this recipe for my friends in america this thanksgiving, having never made a pecan pie before. The recipe was easy to follow and the pie tuned out perfectly. Was loved by all. It makes a very pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nikki D76
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I will say that my Fiance is from the south (GA) and loves Pecan pie. When I followed this recipe to the "T" he fell in love with me all over again! I have made it 3 or 4 times for him already and it has only been 2 weeks. This recipe is GREAT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki D76

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This pecan pie is very easy to make and tastes wonderful. I never knew making a pie crust from scratch could be so easy. Even i couldn't mess it up!! Hint - if you don't have time to make the crust and want to use frozen premade - make sure to use the "deep dish" ones because this recipe yields a large amount of filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lestercancook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gonzales, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This recipe was the 1st pecan pie I had ever made and it made me look like an old pro! I made it for my father in law for his birthday because it is his favorite and he LOVED it! My husband said it was a close runner up to the "name-brand" pecan pies I order at Christmas time - no more ordering for me! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conyers, Georgia, USA
Living In: Morrow, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
I made this as a "gift" for someone who loves pecan pies and he loved it. It was very easy to make, recipe was really easy to follow. I will definitely be making this one again- for me next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lawavediva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: San Jacinto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I used a different filling, the Unbeatable Pecan Pie recipe because it used maple syrup. A lot of reviews on this recipe made mention of how good the crust was. It really is a delicious crust. I will probably use this crust for all of my future pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ? allyson ?

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I dont know what I did wrong but, the consistency was awful. It was like pecan pie soup....The flavor was good so I gave it 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
My husband LOVES pecan pie. Tonight he said this pecan pie was the best ever. Excellent recipe. I didn't make the homemade crust in the recipe. I'm sure it would be even better with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States