Southern Pecan Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
I've been trying for years to find a recipe to duplicate "Edward's Pecan Pie", which is my favorite and which I can no longer find in the market; this is very close. It has that smooth buttery flavor - a filling that doesn't over power the pecans, but compliments them. I made it to take to a party and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
I made this as a "gift" for someone who loves pecan pies and he loved it. It was very easy to make, recipe was really easy to follow. I will definitely be making this one again- for me next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lawavediva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: San Jacinto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
I am use to a sweeter pecan pie. This pie is "thick" I think too much egg? The crust is DELICIOUS. It still tasted ok. I am looking for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
I'm from England and I made this recipe for my friends in america this thanksgiving, having never made a pecan pie before. The recipe was easy to follow and the pie tuned out perfectly. Was loved by all. It makes a very pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
This is a great pecan pie recipe, however I would not recommend going with a store bought pie crust it comes out much better with the crust recipe listed plus it is much tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Good, not too sweet but I am still searching for the perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nikki D76
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I will say that my Fiance is from the south (GA) and loves Pecan pie. When I followed this recipe to the "T" he fell in love with me all over again! I have made it 3 or 4 times for him already and it has only been 2 weeks. This recipe is GREAT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki D76

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I liked this a lot. I cheated and used a ready-made pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA
Living In: Flint, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This recipe was the 1st pecan pie I had ever made and it made me look like an old pro! I made it for my father in law for his birthday because it is his favorite and he LOVED it! My husband said it was a close runner up to the "name-brand" pecan pies I order at Christmas time - no more ordering for me! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conyers, Georgia, USA
Living In: Morrow, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I used a different filling, the Unbeatable Pecan Pie recipe because it used maple syrup. A lot of reviews on this recipe made mention of how good the crust was. It really is a delicious crust. I will probably use this crust for all of my future pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ? allyson ?

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States