Southern Pecan Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Easy and sooooooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirls8

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I made this as a gift for my son in law since he claims to be a pecan pie expert. He LOVED it, unfortunately for my daughter, since it is sooooo easy she said he wants her to make it all the time. The only thing I did different was the oven temp, I preheated at 375 and then changed to 325 and back to 350 for last ten minutes, but only because I did not want it to over brown before getting done since my oven tends to heat on the hot side, and not because the recipe itself was off. I used a deep dish pie crust and it still filled it nicely, I will definately make this many times over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grayling, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I had not made a pecan pie before and needed to bring one to Thanksgiving. This went over like a rock star! EVERYONE loved it from my sweet-tooth uncle to a friend who was visiting from China. It is the same recipe as the back of the Karo corn syrup bottle - except for the 15 at 400. I made mine in a spring form pan. Made it easier to cut and serve. Spray the pan first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
My husband made this pie for Thanksgiving, followed recipe exactly. Great Southern pecan pie taste, exactly what you would expect to get in Texas or something. The ooey gooey was a little runny but like I previously said my husband was cooking. First time I had seen him cook in like 5 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewisville, Texas, USA
Living In: Argyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I thought everything was perfect about this recipe except that it should mention to bake on the lowest oven rack, or else the top would get brown too quickly. I started mine out on the middle rack, but moved it to the bottom when I noticed this. Also, I thought 1 1/2 cups of pecans wasn't enough. I used closer to 2 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jody Silvey Goetz
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
WOW!!!! This was so easy and tasted so great. I had never tried to make a pecan pie before. Followed the recipe exactly and got rave reviews at our Thanksgiving dinner. Will hang on to this recipe for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Silvey Goetz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingman, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Easy recipe. Family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Mccomb, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
i JUST HAD TO ADD A REVIEW AFTER THE RAVE REVIEWS I GOT FROM THE PIE! mY HUSBAND TOOK ONE TO WORK AND HIS CO WORKERS SAID IT WAS THE BEST! I DO REC. THE DEEP DISH-I ALSO ADDED MORE PECANS AND PLACED PECAN HALVES AROUND THE EDGES JUST TO MAKE IT DIFFERENT FROM THE OTHER PIES. I AM A BEGIINER AND THIS WAS SOOO EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan2162

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hurley, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I Love this pie, I would not change anything about it. This is the first pecan pie I have ever made, I will not be buying pecan pies anymore. Great Recipe. It takes more than an hour baking time for the filling to set just keep baking it and check to see when the middle does not jiggle very much, and cover the pie with foil so it won't burn the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I have made this pie twice already and the reviews have been fantastic!! It is delicious and not at all runny. I suggest cooking it a few extra minutes, but otherwise I would not change a thing! I will make this for year's to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States