Southern Pecan Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I added only a half cup of sugar and this was a perfect pecan pie. Very similar to a recipe my husband's aunt gave me years ago but it only made an 8" pie. This will be my pecan pie recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cndysc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe. I got tons of compliments on this pie. The funny thing is that when I was pouring the corn syrup from the Karo bottle I noticed that the recipe is exactly the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Excellent recipe. This is the one my mother passed down. I now realize that it is the KARO syrup recipe but it is still the way to go. After making many of these pies I have a few suggestions. Use only KARO or other top of the line syrups. Also bring all ingredients to room temperature before mixing. Do not over mix or use electric mixer; this tends to make the pie runny. Another tip - use normal size eggs. Extra large eggs will keep it from setting up. I shield the crust edges for the first 40 minutes, remove for the last 15 minutes. This keeps the crust from becoming too dark before pie is ready. One last thing, I bake mine exactly 55 minutes! No more, no less. I have found this is perfect for my oven which is calibrated correctly. I hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
yup - everyone says it was good and it was. Used brown sugar instead of white because I always do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Tasted very good...make sure you check your pie before time given . My pie crust got burned . Other than that pretty basic recipe, and does not take long at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TiNkEr BeLl
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I did a big Southern dinner with my family and this was a hit. every one said it was a perfect way to end the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiNkEr BeLl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Squamish, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This pie turned out absolutely perfect!! I followed the recipe exactly and arranged the pecan on the pie in a circle pattern. It was to die for!!! Everyone raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Native Cowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oelrichs, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Best Pecan pie ever. It stays together when you cut it instead of running.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plum Grove, Texas, USA
Living In: Diboll, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
DARK corn syrup makes any pecan pie better! Tried and true by my deceased mother-in-law!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Solomon, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
FANTASTIC!!! SUPER EASY TO MAKE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gordon, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States