Southern Pecan Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Hubby wanted pecan pie for dessert on Easter, so I made this. I used 3/4 cup of dark corn syrup and 1/4 cup of light corn syrup. This pie was just as delicious as the pecan pie we had in South Carolina. And with a scoop of vanilla ice cream---it was even better !!! Excellent recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I cut sugar to 1/2 cup and used 1/2 cup light corn syrup and 1/2 cup maple pancake syrup. Got rave reviews at work with frequent requests to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
My husband's favorite pie is pecan and this recipe was the first recipe I ever tried to make and he LOVES it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I never thought I would be able to make pecan pie until I found this recipe! OMG it is so amazing!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Canady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fruitland Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Didn't turn out as well as expected . . . The filling separated into a hard crunchy topping with a mushy filling underneath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachelle64

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntingdon, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
My first pecan pie and it was too easy & good!!! However I did have to increase the cooking time by about 30 mins. Other than that it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
My mother was the BEST pie maker EVER; with that being said, now that she is gone I could not locate her rececipe. I came her to look for one that I thought was similar to her's and tried this Southern Pecan Pie I and read the reviews. I took what was said and then some. I made two of these for Thanksgiving...OMG I could not get enough! I did use 1/2 light and 1/2 dark syrup AND then added just a few more pecans so that they were not floating so much and this WILL be my recipe from now on. Thank you Nikki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerrod13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I just baked this today. We couldn't wait and had a piece tonight. It tasted fine, nice, mild and not too sweet, however it did not bake completely within the 40 minutes at 350 after turning the heat down. The center 3 " seemed soggy and did not set. It puffed just fine and looked done. Perhaps it needed to bake at 375 instead or for 50 minutes. It makes a nice looking/tasting pie though. I will try it again and give it more time to bake and protect the crust edges earlier in the baking period.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsDenise

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Awesome recipe!I make 4 of these every Thanksgiving! Use 1/2 cup light and 1/2 cup dark corn syrup. Also added 1 tablespoon of flour to mixture to help with the setting. To prevent your pie from burning, bake at 350 degrees for 50 mins with foil around crust, then remove foil and bake for an additional 10 minutes. Comes out PERFECT every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cupcake muffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I just made this pie. Followed the instructions as stated to bake at preheat oven at 400 degrees for 15 mins then reduce to 350 degrees for 30 mins, burned the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States