Southern Peanut Butter Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Seeing how the reviews were split--I wanted to give this a try. It was good enough that I am glad I did, but not good enough to make it again. It does take a long time to cook--to the point that it could overcook the pie shell. The next day it does taste really good, but its too finicky to be worth it to make again. If you do choose to make it, try making it in cupcake tins with a graham cracker crust. Only fill the tins halfway and then they should come out for you. Another way that might be good is to make it, scrape it out of the pie shell and mix the pieces into another dish like a chocolate bread or something to that effect. Good luck, but I wont be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Tasted really good, but did not set up at all. Was so runny. Will not make it again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brady, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Milburn, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Loved it! It was very good. I made per instructions this time, but may substitute the corn syrup for molasses next time. For those who said the filling never set- this is a custard pie, like pumpkin or pecan, bake until the filling is set except for a little jiggle in the middle. You will probably need to cover the crust with tin foil to keep it from burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morrison, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Agra, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I wanted to use the 8 Keebler mini graham cracker shells I had on hand for this. After reading some reviews complaining about the pies being runny, I changed the ingredients to: 1/2 cup Splenda; 1/2 cup corn syrup - only had light on hand, so used it; 1/2 cup extra crunchy peanut butter; 2 eggs; 1 tsp vanilla; and the rest of the peanuts I had on hand. As both the peanut butter and the nuts were salted, I omitted the salt. They were cooked to perfection in about 35 minutes (probably because of the smaller crusts). The recipe thus became almost exactly my pecan tart recipe, minus the butter and pecans and plus the peanut butter and peanuts! Thanks for sharing this idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BABY
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This did not set at all. It was very thick liquid like. I mean it tasted great. Had it set, I would've probably given it 5 stars but since I made it twice and both times it wouldn't set, I gave it 3 stars. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Oh good, someone else knows the *right* way to make peanut butter pie! Nearly identical to how my grandmother always made it back in Texas. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Wow, this was easy and good. I used light corn syrup + a little molasses instead of the dark syrup. I think the whole peanuts are fine, I used a serrated knife and sawed through them, and the slices cut nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Absolutely DELICIOUS!!! And I don't even like Peanut Butter! We made it for Thanksgiving dinner and the kids went nuts over it - I had to make another! This time I tried it without the peanuts and it was still delicious! Definitely will settle any sweet tooth! I recommend a nice glass of milk with it - Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Channon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Man, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Lorain, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Just like the peanut butter pie in high school!! I'm glad I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
I Made homemade pie crust, because, I live in the south, I went to the corner and bought some boiled peanuts, to avoid what others said about the peanuts getting in the way. cooked in the middle of the oven, and it turned out wonderful! yummy. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Peanut Butter Pie

Check out this no-bake, icebox pie!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States