Southern Peach Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
So easy and good! Perfect for a last minute dessert. I didn't have self rising flour so I added baking powder and salt. I also added cinnamon since we all like it. It was delicious. My family will be wanting me to make this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
307 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
I halved the recipe, except for the sugar, using 1/2 cup white, 1/2 cup brown. I also used 4 of the single serving peach cups instead of canned fruit. added a good bit of vanilla and cinnamon to crust mix. also sprinkled the tops of the peaches with brown sugar and cinnamon. Baked for 40 min. in a 8x8 glass dish. This came out soooo good, no problems with raw center as others mentioned. This is the recipe I will use for peach cobbler from now on! So easy and quick and good! YUMMY!! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
268 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
This was great! We adjusted the recipe to serve 12 and cooked it in a 9x13 for 35 minutes. Then covered it with foil to prevent overbrowning and baked another 10 minutes. We also used fresh peaches ~6 cups (3 lbs) tossed with 1/4 cup or so of sugar. Bake in 9 x 13
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
218 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I am basing my review off of my mom`s recipe. The recipes are very similar. The only difference is that she uses regular flour (add 2 t of baking powder) and the sugar is only 3/4 a cup of white sugar if using canned peaches. For fresh soak in an added 3/4 c of white sugar. Also, she adds 1/4 t of salt. I use 1 t of vanilla extract and for the milk half the 3/4 c is half and half and the other half is whipping cream. I have always baked it in a an 8x8 dish (CLEAR GLASS for fruits always) and never ended up with a soggy cobbler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUPPUSAMY
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
I used 9 ripe freshly cooked peaches and juice for this recipe (9 peaches, 3/4 cup of peach juice, 1/4 cup of lemon juice, 3/4 cup sugar and 1/8 tsp cornstarch cook over Medium heat until tender. I made alterations to suit my families taste. for batter: 1 cup of self-rising flour, 1/2 cup sugar and 3/4 cup of milk. Hint: Evenly distribute the batter and peaches and juice working from the ouside/in. As even as possibe. Top with cinnomin before baking. I baked at 350 for 1 hour in a 10x10x2in. pyrex dish. THIS IS THE ULTIMATE PEACH COBBLER. Don't roll and weave dough it takes forever and it isn't as good as this recipe. Super Great recipe. 2 thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
Quick, easy, and delicious; my three favorite words.I made this once as is, which was totally wonderful. But the second time, for personal preference, I wanted to cut back on the sugar. I used 2/3 cup with half white and half light brown. The peach taste was more dramatic with less sugar, nonetheless, my guests really enjoyed this recipe as is. Easy and excellent. Thanks Fanny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
This was really good! Following some advice I changed the sugar to 3/4c white and 1/4c brown. I also added some cinnamon and vanilla to the "crust" mixture. Instead of one large can of peaches I had 2 smaller ones so I drained one and left the other in the syrup. Baked for about 40 min and it came out wonderfully! I had no problem with sogginess like others said. **Update** I've made this twice now and I think "sogginess" is dependent on baking dish size. First time I did it in a larger dish with absolutely NO sogginess, second time in a smaller dish and the middle was all mushy. And a couple of hand fulls of oats over the top of the peaches really added something great to this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
I was looking for a simple cobbler recipe to feed 450 people this last weekend, and without first trying it, I trusted the ratings on this one and just did it. It was wonderful! One thing to be sure to use unsalted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
Overall very good. I added 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1 tsp vanilla for extra flavor. Needs to cool at least 30 min before eating, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Marren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
Not accustomed to self-rising flour, I had bought my first 5lbs for another recipe and was in search for other recipes and happened across this one - what a good find! This recipe is definitely a keeper! I used our home-canned peaches and sprinkled some cinnamon on top of the batter. The first bite to the last was remarkably delicious! Fast & easy - a must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Peach Cobbler

Turn fresh peaches into sweet, outrageously delicious cobbler.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

How to Make Peach Cobbler

Watch Chef John make a delicious but simple peach cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States