Southern Peach Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
This was really, really tasty. Does it really need that much butter, though? It was swimming in it. Next time I will try 1/2 stick of butter instead (1/4 cup). Delicious with brown and white sugar combo and a little Mexican vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Great recipe!! Made this over the weekend, and everyone loved it! Thanks Sloanf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maplewood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Good base recipe. I added cinnamon and nutmeg for something extra. I made the mistake of not adding enough juice from peaches and ended up peach sweet bread. Very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beybey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Romeo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I have been making this recipe for over 50 years. It is my favorite cobbler recipe. But slight changes: 1 c. flour, 1 c. sugar, 1 c. milk, 1 tsp baking powder. I also put fruit in first, then pour this mixture over the top. Sprinkle sugar over the top. It is truly great! Can be made with ANY fruit. I like it with Blackberries best. For true Southern flavor, serve with sweet cream poured over the bowl of hot cobbler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I love this recipe. You can cut the sugar a bit if you want without much problem. Once while on vacation, I accidentally bought self-rising corn meal instead of flour. I used 1/2 self-rising corn meal and half all purpose flour. It's not the family favorite. Almost any fruit is good, too. We often use frozen blueberries or a mix of blueberry and peach. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I've made peach cobbler this way for many years, but have always used 1/2 cup butter, 1 cup white sugar, 1 cup self-rising flour and 1 large can of peaches (in lite or heavey syrup) and basicly baked it the same way. My family loves it. It is good with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I've been making this recipe and receiving complements on it for years. If using canned fruit, I first use heat and corn starch to thicken the syrup. Add a pinch of cinnamon and a couple of tbs. of brown sugar to the peach filling. The brown sugar/cinnamon makes the peach filling. extra rich. For fresh fruit, in a pot and on medium heat add 1/2 to 1 c. of water and 1/2 to 1 c. sugar to fruit (adjust by taste- different fruits will require more-less sugar and adding more-less water). Bring to boil, stir until filling thickens a little, and cool before pouring over batter. Fresh blackberry cobbler is also a winner at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This was very tasty! I followed the advice of some other reviewers and added a bit of cinnamon and vanilla to the crust mixture. I used two cans of peaches since my cans were a little smaller, so I ended up with less breading, but it was great! We topped it with some vanilla ice cream and enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This was excellent. I sprinkled sugar, brown sugar and cinnamon on top before baking, and it was very yummy! Next time I make it, though, I think I will put less butter than it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This recipe is so easy. I have tried several peach cobbler recipes but none came out as good as this one. It was delicious. I sprinkled sugar & nutmeg on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellenwood, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Peach Cobbler

Turn fresh peaches into sweet, outrageously delicious cobbler.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

How to Make Peach Cobbler

Watch Chef John make a delicious but simple peach cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States