Southern Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I did not care for this recipe, too mushy and slimy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawn marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Good stuff! I didn't boil my okra that long, it was already pretty tender out of the garden. I didn't add the sugar, hubby is a diabetic. I also added a lot of garlic, just because we love it. Cooked smoked sausage with the other veggies, hubby doesn't think it's a meal w/o meat. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
It was so easy and everyone loved it. I did add chicken and sausage which made it a complete meal. I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Unexpectedly one of the best dishes I've made from allrecipes. It's so simple but tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This recipe is great. I have made it twice now, my neighbors have a garden, and they shared some of their bounty with us. I doubled the recipe, I did use olive oil instead of the vegetable oil. I also diced up some beef kielbasa sausage, I added that in with the peppers and onions. I served with white rice and homemade biscuits. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This was great, thanks! It was the first time I'd cooked with okra and I was really happy with the outcome. I added a clove of garlic and a red chilli (with seeds) but otherwise followed the recipe. Next time I will slice the okra a bit thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
The okra was too mushy, sticky and sweet. I'm not sure where I went wrong, but I think if I made it a second time, I wouldn't boil the okra. I would just stir fry it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amilou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This was very easy to make. It is a healthy dish with a slightly sweet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I liked this very much, though I did replace part of the bell pepper with some pablano and anaheim peppers as well as a small yellow tabasco pepper. Gave it a nice bite! The small amount of flour gave the liquid just the right texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
One of my very favorite recipes on this site. I love okra, and this is one of the best ways to prepare it that I've found. No hints or modifications needed- this recipe works perfectly as written. I've made it dozens of times to rave reviews. It's best with fresh ingredients, but frozen or canned substitutions will work OK. I serve it with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States