Southern Moon Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
These are very good! I do agree that the dough should be refrigerated. I made half of them right after I used and they spread and were hard to get off the trays. While they were baking put the remainder of the dough in the refrigerator, they turned out puffy and much easier to get off the tray! I did use 7 ounces of marshmallow cream, it was a good thing, I had just enough filling for the 21 Southern Moon Pies the recipe made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iron Mountain, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kingsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheCrizzler
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Followed the recipe , used the whole jar of marshmallow fluff , soooooooo good ! Also decided to make a dark chocolate ganache for the top Cookie , the bitter of the dark chocolate takes away a little bit of the sweet from the filling , which I really liked the out come of :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
These were a big hit at the pinewood derby, but just a little too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort Gordon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Sinful! Hard not to eat every last one of them! Helpful Hint #1 ..Do not over mix batter and cool in fridge before baking..do not flatten an let them cool completely. #2 Used 3/4 C of confection sugar for filling ..is very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Don't let the other reviews scare you off. This recipe is simple to make and no need to change anything- just follow the directions. That being said I did just use the whole 7 oz jar of marshmallow creme instead of measuring out 1 cup. Very tasty- everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I only made the chocolate cake part of this recipe as I have another icing recipe I have been wanting to try and this was perfect for it. The cake cookies are perfect. 6 minutes at 380 was perfect for mine. When I had it at 400, they burned just a tad, but my oven runs a bit hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Just made this recipe for a function for 100 people... They were a huge hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I made these for my class and they loved them! When creaming together the butter, evaporated milk and sugar; I was a little worried because things were so chunky. But as I added the other ingredients, that chunkiness went away. Overall, a great recipe. Loved the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Easy to make. Did not modify the recipe - very good as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Didn't need to change a thing. Baked the cookies on parchment paper. Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raisedbywolves

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States