Southern Moon Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
I only made the cookie and they are great. Used ice cream to make sanwiches. Eventually will make in its entirety. BlueTulips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2015
I thought these were discussing! My boyfriend liked them but only cold. But still not his favorite. I give this recipe a thumbs down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetypie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
I wasn't crazy about this recipe. It does come out very sweet and very rich and is quite similar to things you can buy at the store. For me, when I'm looking for a good recipe it should be absolutely delicious, or in some way healthier than what I can buy in the store. This one took a lot of work and I was not bowled over by the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I made the cookie part of the recipe to go with some leftover frosting, so my rating is for the cookies, only. They had a light cake-like texture, which I enjoyed. I used a store-brand cocoa, though, which did not mix well with the dry ingredients and had a pretty lackluster taste. Next time I will upgrade. Definitely will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Extremely delicious, especially the filling. I used hard red wheat flour; it added a nice texture. Be sure to spread them FAR apart while baking, as mine totally pancaked (probably my fault). Will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
These are very good! I do agree that the dough should be refrigerated. I made half of them right after I used and they spread and were hard to get off the trays. While they were baking put the remainder of the dough in the refrigerator, they turned out puffy and much easier to get off the tray! I did use 7 ounces of marshmallow cream, it was a good thing, I had just enough filling for the 21 Southern Moon Pies the recipe made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iron Mountain, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kingsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheCrizzler
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Followed the recipe , used the whole jar of marshmallow fluff , soooooooo good ! Also decided to make a dark chocolate ganache for the top Cookie , the bitter of the dark chocolate takes away a little bit of the sweet from the filling , which I really liked the out come of :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
These were a big hit at the pinewood derby, but just a little too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort Gordon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Sinful! Hard not to eat every last one of them! Helpful Hint #1 ..Do not over mix batter and cool in fridge before baking..do not flatten an let them cool completely. #2 Used 3/4 C of confection sugar for filling ..is very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Don't let the other reviews scare you off. This recipe is simple to make and no need to change anything- just follow the directions. That being said I did just use the whole 7 oz jar of marshmallow creme instead of measuring out 1 cup. Very tasty- everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States