Southern Macaroni and Cheese Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Just like what Grandma used to make! If the other reviewer had lumpy sauce they didn't culture the eggs as instructed 1 Tablespoon at a time. I have been looking for a Mac n Cheese recipe like my Grandmother made and this is as close as I remember. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This was fantastic! I used the dish it called for, but in doing so, was unable to make all of the layers! I topped with just a little bit of bread crumbs and it was amazing, even microwaved the second time! I think next time I will use an 8 inch square pan instead! Oh, and just a little heads up, even on heat setting three, it took a little while for it to start to thicken up, but hang in there, it's totally worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Two things that are important to the end result: use canned milk; and follow the directions for the milk/egg mixture: For some who may not know, it is mandatory to add a little of the heated milk to the beaten eggs as described to 'condition' the eggs to the hotter temperature. If you just 'dump' the cold eggs into the hot mixture, the yolks will cook, and you will have a mess. Stir constantly as milk has a tendency to scald if the temperature is too hot. Once the mixture begins to form tiny bubbles around the edges in the pot, it is simmering. Do not boil. continue to stir constantly and, if necessary, remove from heat and lower temperature. When the milk/egg mixture coats the spoon, you are ready to proceed to the next step, in my opinion. And, if you don't understand the term 'coating the spoon' it means that when you take the spoon from the pot, a coating of the mixture should remain on the spoon. You don't want the sauce to be thick - it will reduce/thicken as it bakes in the oven. This is my go-to mac n cheese recipe henceforth. I had been looking for a recipe that incorporated eggs, and I found perfection in this recipe--at least for my taste. Absolutely the best mac n cheese I have ever made. Thanks to dameionec for shartin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I didn't have chedder cheese so i used velvetta and this is so yummy and so easy , will make it a regular at our table :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlefield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
All is well and good but try topping this dish with some toasted buttered bread crumbs. Before baking the dish, simply melt about a table spoon + of butter in a small frying pan, Add about a cup of regular bread crumbs and lightly brown (toast)the bread crumbs. Spread or sprinkle the toasted bread crumbs on top of the casserole and bake as directed. A simple step but it does add another layer of flavor and texture to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I would give this a 5 starminus the eggs. I'm from the south and use velveta cheese in replacement of the eggs I boil the velveta with milk in a sauce pan until its thick creamy. Than I pour the sauce over the half cooked macaroni be careful not to fully cook the shells. its going in the oven and will be overcooked. I like monteray jack and mexican cheese with this recipe. or if your not a yellow cheese person try this recipe with the 5 white cheeses of your choice makes a whole of difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I am not an expert chef, but I enjoy cooking, watch a LOT of "Food Network" and consider myself a fairly knowledgeable cook, but I made a startling discovery when making this recipe that I felt I should share. To the purists- I always read the reviews first and adjust accordingly. I reduced the pepper to 1.5 tsp. - I only used 2 eggs, and I added 2 tsp of sugar. After carefully following the directions for the roux, I then added the cheese into the sauce so that it was all melted together in a yummy sauce, then added the pasta, stirred, and moved over into the 9x13 baking dish. The pasta was absolutely swimming in the sauce. I clearly did not have enough. I went back and cooked 2 more cups of the pasta, added it, then baked. It was delicious. But what the heck was the problem with the amount of pasta? I assumed the problem to be the fact that I substituted "mini farfalle (bowties) in place of the elbow mac. I then ran a search and LO AND BEHOLD – I found a pasta conversion chart! WHAT? I can't believe I've never seen or heard anything about the need to make adjustments based on a pasta substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Finally back to review this one mainly because I am making it again and making some changes. My family loved the original recipe. This time I changed the cheese a little by using two cups of real cheddar and two cups of velvetta. At the end I added a bit of shredded colby jack and bread crumbs to the top. Mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Taste great but more work than is needed in MHO. My family recipe is very much the same, but instead of all that work, you just cook the noodles al dente, then layer with: first a little cheese, then noodles, salt,pepper, pats butter, layer of cheese. Continue layering until at the top of the dish. Wisk the eggs with the milk, then pour over the entire top. (Depending on depth of dish, may not have enough liquid,but then just mix up more eggs and milk. Liquid should be showing about 3/4 inch below surface of cheese/noodles. Bake and enjoy! This has been a family recipe for years, and so delicious and easy! (I actually have been substituting skim milk, and also evaporated skim milk, and works just as well. Regular skim milk just needs to cook a little longer until bubbling and can tell it is finished when center, when pulled aside by a fork, is not "milk" consistency but rather looks like half-cooked scrambled eggs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
My family is from the deep south - many generations so good southern cooking is something we take pride in. Thinking maybe I should change things up a bit, I made this recipe exctly as stated. I think the black pepper was WAY too much and ovrewhelming. The eggs made an odd consistency to the dish. Will not make this or recommend it to others. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States