Southern Macaroni and Cheese Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I didn't have chedder cheese so i used velvetta and this is so yummy and so easy , will make it a regular at our table :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlefield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
My family really liked this dish. Real comfort food. Thanks for sharing this and I loved the video!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This was fantastic! I used the dish it called for, but in doing so, was unable to make all of the layers! I topped with just a little bit of bread crumbs and it was amazing, even microwaved the second time! I think next time I will use an 8 inch square pan instead! Oh, and just a little heads up, even on heat setting three, it took a little while for it to start to thicken up, but hang in there, it's totally worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Eggs gave the cheese sauce a weird, lumpy texture. Wasn't horrible but wasn't good either. Wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Just like what Grandma used to make! If the other reviewer had lumpy sauce they didn't culture the eggs as instructed 1 Tablespoon at a time. I have been looking for a Mac n Cheese recipe like my Grandmother made and this is as close as I remember. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
My boyfriend is a very picky eater but he loved this mac and cheese and I even forgot to add the second can of milk and added two bags of cheese and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I love this recipe because there is not many ingredients and just so happened to have them on hand while in a hurry to make a side dish!!! My family LOVED it! I have several different recipes for Mac and cheese but I do believe this is the best one!!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Finally back to review this one mainly because I am making it again and making some changes. My family loved the original recipe. This time I changed the cheese a little by using two cups of real cheddar and two cups of velvetta. At the end I added a bit of shredded colby jack and bread crumbs to the top. Mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I would give this a 5 starminus the eggs. I'm from the south and use velveta cheese in replacement of the eggs I boil the velveta with milk in a sauce pan until its thick creamy. Than I pour the sauce over the half cooked macaroni be careful not to fully cook the shells. its going in the oven and will be overcooked. I like monteray jack and mexican cheese with this recipe. or if your not a yellow cheese person try this recipe with the 5 white cheeses of your choice makes a whole of difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
It's real good however I need an alternative to using eggs, at least for me. My ladies can't eat eggs so they didn't enjoy it as much as I did. Still great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EddyStrutless

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lead, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States