Southern Macaroni and Cheese Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Gretchen
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
My husband loved this. Just like his Mama made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
The BEST mac-n-cheese recipe I have made so far, and easy!!!! Here are the modifications I made and it turned out perfect: - used one teaspoon of pepper instead of 1 tablespoon - used more cheese (8 ounces of cheddar, 16 ounces of sharp cheddar-- I saved about 1 cup of the sharp cheddar until the end to sprinkle on top of the whole dish - added cubes of smoked ham YUUMMY FLAVOR! - I didn't do the layering in the pan, I just mixed all the ingredients into the big pot with the egg/milk mixture - I didn't use regular salt, I just sprinkled Lawry's seasoning salt after all the ingredients were mixed in the big pot, to taste, right before I poured it all into the baking pan -I had to cook about 25-30 minutes in my oven My family really enjoyed it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I have been looking for a good hearty mac and cheese recipe that everyone would enjoy and this was it. I was a little hesitant on it because of the layering and I wasn't sure how the cheesy the noodles would be but it turned out great. I made this for a last minute Christmas dinner and was surprised that there was nothing left after dinner. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Limaville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Very good. Saved it & will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I thought this was very good. My gauge is if the sauce is nice and creamy and this certainly was creamy. I did replace the cheddar with Velveeta as that is my comfort cheese for mac and cheese. I also added my cheese to the milk/butter mixture and just put it all in one large corning wear casserole and it fit perfectly. One reviewer commented that the eggs made the cheese sauce weird and lumpy. If you follow the instructions and add the egg a Tablespoon at a time, the eggs won't get lumpy. It is time consuming so don't rush that step. This is a great recipe and goes well with ham. I brought it to a New Years Eve party where ham was the main dish and it was received very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Made this for Thanksgiving. My boyfriend's favorite food is homemade mac and cheese. This was a major hit. Everyone was asking for the recipe. It's so simple and absolutely warms the soul. Thanks for a great comfort food recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Amazing! Made it exactly like the recipe and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This was interesting. I happen to love regular macaroni and cheese, and had never heard of this style, with eggs and evaporated milk. I made it exactly as written. I wasn't sure if the macaroni should have been 2 cups by volume, or by weight, but I figured by volume, and it seemed to have been the right choice. I was a little hesitant about the differentness of this (for example, the evaporated milk turning into somewhat of a ricotta-like texture), and actually enjoyed the reheated leftovers more. I'm not sure whether the "layering" technique was necessary, though, as it pretty much all seemed to blend together. This was decent, but I'm not sure I'd make it again instead of a more conventional mac-and-cheese dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Made this for Thanksgiving and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I made this today. LOVE IT... I bought smoked gruyere and vermont cheddar cheese. I shredded them and followed the directions as written EXCEPT, I DIDN'T USE ANY PEPPER OR PAPRIKA. I did however use 1 reviews suggestion of browning up some breadcrumbs and topped it off with that. This isn't the cheesy type of mac n cheese but that's alright with me. The smoked gruyere was perfect. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States