Southern Living Magazine's Chicken-Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I especially liked the crisp and tender cracker coating on this. The only things I did different was add some garlic powder to the cracker/flour mixture and used just enough peanut oil to come half way up the steaks as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I have tried a number of chicken-fried steak recipes over the years, but stopped looking after trying this one. My only suggestion is to press the cracker mixture into the steaks, especially during the second dredging. I also personally like to use half milk and half broth for the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
My 14 year old son actually made this mostly on his own. They were great. Loved the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I used pork cube steaks and it came out great...just a little bland will use seasoned salt next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Henness

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon Springs, New York, USA
Living In: Summerfield, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
You know I thought for the most part this was really good. Hubby thought the meat was fatty but it could have just been from where I got it. One daughter thought too spicy and I may have to take out the red peppers for her and the younger one (for those with small kids eating this). One thing we all agreed on was too much salt. I thought about this after putting it all together and starting the gravy, "Salt the meat, salt the flour, put in saltine crackers, salt the gravy...." Some may want to skip a couple of those "saltings". Will I try this again? I may try another recipe and compare the two. If I can't find anything that looks good I may just pick this one back up and make some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
First fried steak recipe my husband has not banned from the household, and has even requested that it be made again. The kids even loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This is the real deal. I used less oil, and it turned out great. The crust on the steaks was perfect, and the gravy divine. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I love this recipe! I didn't crush the crackers fine enough the first time and it made the coating too thick in places. On all subsequent uses, I've crushed the crackers to a fine dust using the pulse setting on my food processor and it makes a beautiful, tasty layer of crust. Prior to cooking, I liberally sprinkle both sides of the steak with salt, pepper and garlic POWDER, then let it sit for 15-20 min. It really gives the meat amazing flavor before dredging. You definitely don't need this much oil; 1 1/2 cups should be enough. You need enough to reach halfway up the side of the steaks, but not cover. The cooking instructions are a bit long for both sides; 1st side should cook no more than 6-7 minutes or until all but the very top looks dry (there should be "puddles" of meat juice in the center areas, but edges should appear golden brown and fried), and the 2nd side 3-4. Any more than that makes the steaks tough. We don't eat gravy so I can't attest to that part of the recipe so my rating is strictly for the steak itself. I can say that I grew up in Texas, and this equals some of the best CFS I ever had there, and far exceeds anything you can get at a chain like Appleby's or Chili's. It's even better than my mom's and hers was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHCMEOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Photo by TheCambodianCook
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
This was delicious, not fussy recipe at all, I added garlic powder to the white sauce for more flavor. Excellent overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
I've been making this recipe for years, and this is hands down my favorite chicken fried steak recipe. Just as good as Cracker Barrel's. I make a few adjustments. I cut everything in the gravy in half, except the flour. Comes out perfect. I also cut the egg mixture in half as it is too much and just goes to waste. I make all of the cracker mix and only put what I need out to bread the cube steaks. The rest goes in a ziploc bag for the next time. Also, I only pour enough oil in the fry pan to sufficiently fry the steak in. Easy to make, and authentic southern!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States