Southern Living magazine's Brunswick Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This stew is excellent. I have been using this recipe for several years now. My husband grew up with Brunswick Stew, he believes this is the best. It freezes great too. I make this all the time. It amazes me that not many look at this recipe. I have changed up how I do it, to make it easier. I roast a chicken in the oven. I put everything else in a crock pot. I steam the potatoes till they are almost done. Today all I had was russet, so that is what is in there. Then take the chicken off the bone and put it in the crock too. I don't use water only chicken broth from the chicken. It is so good, and a cheap meal. Freezes well. It is better and thicker the next day when everything has had time to blend together. If you find it to thick, I have added more chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
this is really good! I used boston butt in place of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belzoni, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I made this for my girlfriend who was born and raised in VA. I had never heard of it, or tried it. Followed the recipe exactly - and it was PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaraginTexas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ennis, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Very good Brunswick Stew! I used a rotisserie chicken which saved a lot of work and thus reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp. since the rotisserie chicken was already seasoned. I found that the amount of hot sauce was a tad hot (and got cumulatively hotter with each bite) so next time I'll half it. Also cut the sugar by half. I added thinly sliced diced carrots and 1/2 cup of hickory BBQ sauce. Although not traditional, could add some sliced okra. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I made a triple recipe pot of this stew for a dinner that I hosted. It was a big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This is a family favorite. I've been making this for a couple of years, and it always gets eaten. I use frozen limas and corn, and I add a bag of sliced up okra. Otherwise, it's perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This is a lot like Brunswick stew I get in Georgia at BBQ restaurants. The only thing missing is pulled pork. I added about 1/4 cup of rib sauce, and a couple of tablespoons of "liquid smoke" to give it that just out of the pit taste. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
This is sooo good! It makes a lot even if you cut it in half but is a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leogrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
Others consider me a gourmet cook, with 20 plus years experience, using various methods of cooking. I have never had Brunswick Stew before, but thought I would try this. Although I have no measurement to measure this against other Brunswick Stew recipes, I found this particular recipe was not impressive. My family let it sit in the refrigerator. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Ballinger Januchowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I lost my Grandmothers recipes for this and THIS is the closest I have found to hers. It is EXCELLENT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Big Island, Virginia, USA
Living In: Timberlake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States