Southern Living magazine's Brunswick Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This stew is excellent. I have been using this recipe for several years now. My husband grew up with Brunswick Stew, he believes this is the best. It freezes great too. I make this all the time. It amazes me that not many look at this recipe. I have changed up how I do it, to make it easier. I roast a chicken in the oven. I put everything else in a crock pot. I steam the potatoes till they are almost done. Today all I had was russet, so that is what is in there. Then take the chicken off the bone and put it in the crock too. I don't use water only chicken broth from the chicken. It is so good, and a cheap meal. Freezes well. It is better and thicker the next day when everything has had time to blend together. If you find it to thick, I have added more chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
this is really good! I used boston butt in place of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belzoni, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I made this for my girlfriend who was born and raised in VA. I had never heard of it, or tried it. Followed the recipe exactly - and it was PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaraginTexas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ennis, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Very good Brunswick Stew! I used a rotisserie chicken which saved a lot of work and thus reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp. since the rotisserie chicken was already seasoned. I found that the amount of hot sauce was a tad hot (and got cumulatively hotter with each bite) so next time I'll half it. Also cut the sugar by half. I added thinly sliced diced carrots and 1/2 cup of hickory BBQ sauce. Although not traditional, could add some sliced okra. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I made a triple recipe pot of this stew for a dinner that I hosted. It was a big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This is a family favorite. I've been making this for a couple of years, and it always gets eaten. I use frozen limas and corn, and I add a bag of sliced up okra. Otherwise, it's perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This is a lot like Brunswick stew I get in Georgia at BBQ restaurants. The only thing missing is pulled pork. I added about 1/4 cup of rib sauce, and a couple of tablespoons of "liquid smoke" to give it that just out of the pit taste. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
This is sooo good! It makes a lot even if you cut it in half but is a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leogrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
Others consider me a gourmet cook, with 20 plus years experience, using various methods of cooking. I have never had Brunswick Stew before, but thought I would try this. Although I have no measurement to measure this against other Brunswick Stew recipes, I found this particular recipe was not impressive. My family let it sit in the refrigerator. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Ballinger Januchowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I lost my Grandmothers recipes for this and THIS is the closest I have found to hers. It is EXCELLENT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Big Island, Virginia, USA
Living In: Timberlake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States