Southern Living magazine's Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
This is one of those recipes that I'll never delete from my file. I added two more slices of cubed bread just to ensure that it wouldn't be a bit soggy. The only changes I made were to add chopped parsley for a little color. And about 5 minutes before I took it out, I sprinkled Cheddar and Monterrey Jack on top to make it cheesier. This one dish pleases EVERYONE. I usually make it on a Friday night and pop it in the over on Saturday - a wonderful brunch idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
Big hit at our Mother's Day brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
WOW! I made this for Christmas breakfast and it was GREAT! I did the ham instead of pork sausage (my husband doesn't like sausage) and, to avoid not having enough flavor as mentioned by some raters, I also added about a half pound of bacon. I chopped and cooked the bacon, and once the bacon was cooked, I added the ham and cooked it with the bacon flavoring for a while. I drained it all very good and *WOW* it had great flavor. The only other thing I did different was to sprinkle chopped green onion on top which enhanced all aspects of the casserole: it smlled great while it was cooking, it looked pretty when it came out, and it tasted awesome. I just ate the leftovers which was very good... I don't know why someone said it doesn't reheat well... I micro'd it for a couple of minutes and it was fine! All in all, a great recipe, super easy, and definitely a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2002
Good. Not great but good. Probally will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
This is a really popular casserole and has been around for a long time. After eyeing it for several months, I decided to give it a try. Hubby thought it was just so-so, but I thought it was pretty good. Next time I may add some bacon along with the sausage and maybe some onions or mushrooms. Make sure you use sharp cheddar as it has a distinct flavor that goes well with sausage!! I had some company show up after lunch and they enjoyed the leftovers. Great for breakfast or brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
this was a really easy and delicious dish! it tastes just like a quiche filling. i made it for dinner -- so i only chilled it for about 6 hours. i used a smaller casserole dish -- used only used 4 eggs (but i easily could have added the 6 called for), about 5 slices of bread, and adjusted the milk and cheese as needed. i will definitely be making this again. it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
A gorgeous and delicious brunch casserole. I used cubed cooked Linguica sausage, and it was a nice zesty touch. I also layered it twice--bread, sausage, cheese, and then again--to vary the textures throughout, and then pressed the layers down gently after pouring the egg mixture over to make sure everything was coated. EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
Very good standard breakfast casserole. Using French bread or like instead of plain white sandwich bread greatly improves the texture making it very light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIXIE_BIT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
Very good. Simple and tasty. The first time I made it the dish seemed a little too moist. I'm one who doesn't like runny eggs, so the second time I cut the milk in half. Just for kicks I doubled the Whorechestershire and added a touch more dry mustard. I think I'll make these changes permanent! We'll definitely be having this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
SO Easy to make and delicious! Even the small children loved them at our Christmas brunch. However, IF you are doubling this recipe in one huge casserole dish to feed a large crowd, the cooking time will need to be increased around twice as long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States