Southern Living magazine's Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 17, 2006
This was very good and easy. I use hot, spicy breakfast sausage and it kicks it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Cox Edge

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Made this the night before, baked for Sunday morning breakfast. Husband liked it, kids and I thought it was too salty and too much sausage. Will try again but will leave out the added salt and try with ham instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatham, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Midway, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2006
With all the good reviews, I thought this would make a great casserole for a brunch at work, but I just wasn't that impressed. I used sourdough bread, sharp cheddar, sage sausage, and a tsp of Emeril Essence (in addition to other ingredients, minus the salt), but it was still bland. The guys at work liked it (they said there's no way to screw up bread, sausage, egg, and cheese), and there wasn't much left, but I didn't have much desire to eat the leftovers. If I were to try this again, I would definitely add at least two more eggs and mix crumbled bacon with the bread, then use ham or bacon on top. My sausage also dried out a little on top, even though I added some cheese in the last ten minutes of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
Easy and delicious, this is definitely a winner! For extra flavor, I substituted seasoned salt for the plain salt, and increased the Worcestershire to 1/2 teaspoon. I promptly baked the casserole after assembly, and it turned out just fine. It made a nice weeknight supper dish for my husband and myself. And there were leftovers for breakfasts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I made this casserole today and it was very good the only changes I made was I added crushed red pepper and garlic powder to the sausage while it was cooking and I added some extra cheddar cheese to the top of the casserole in the last 10 minutes of baking and I used french bread instead of plain loaf bread. This is a great recipe!!My picky husband even loved it!!!! THANKS!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
We enjoyed this. I added a bit of chopped red and green peppers for a festive look. I left out the salt: with the sausage and cheese, additional salt would have been too much. I will make it again, on occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
This was as easy as it was yummy! It sure made breakfast for holiday company alot easier. I followed one of the other reviews and added crumbled bacon to my 2 cups of ham, then sauted my ham in the bacon grease for flavor (drain well afterwards). I used extra cheese and removed the edges from the bread. Finally, I topped it with sour cream when serving. It was a hit with all! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bingham, Maine, USA
Living In: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
Delicious! I made this casserole for a brunch after church. I substituted cooked ham (cubed) for the sausage and added green pepper, green onion, and mushroom. I also used hearty canadian bread. I cooked per the instructions, but then left it in my oven on 170 degrees for 2 hours while we were at church. All of the men loved it. I'll definitely make it again for Christmas morning. Next time I might add 2 more eggs as another reviewer tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
This is a good breakfast casserole, if breakfast casseroles are your thing (their not really mine). I was looking for a recipe to take to a local preschool association meeting next month and I wanted to use my family as a guinea pig and it turned out good. Also just wanted to let you know I prepared the casserole and popped it into the oven without waiting for 8 hours and it turned out just fine. I think next time I make it I might add some onions and mushrooms I think it would add a little bit more complex flavors and make it even better. This is a hearty filling dish and I think it will feed more than 8 people, more like 12. I will make again and tweak a little next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
I have used this recipes on countless occasions and I'm always pleased with the compliments I receive. It's hearty and filling and you can make variations galore. The mustard and Worcestershire sauce are must-have ingredients, but you can change almost anything else in the recipe to suit your mood. Flavored sausage, different types of bread, buttermilk, hot peppers, anything works. It's perfect for women's brunches and special occasion breakfasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States