Southern Italian Thanksgiving Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
everyone loves this dish., mom, dad and kids think this is the keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaterhune

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Scaled down the recipe for a trial run before Thanksgiving. Came out great! I'm not a fan of sage or poultry seasoning, so I used a bit of oregano instead. Had a great flavor. Left out the pine nuts, but will consider adding them in next time. Was a bit on the salty side, so for Thanksgiving, I'll use low-sodium chicken broth and not add any additional salt. Can't wait for the family to taste it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Seaford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
My Neice made this today for the first time and it is awesome! I couldn't wait to get home and print this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Perfect! The only thing I changed was substituting unsalted sunflower kernels for the pine nuts. A cup of pine nuts was over 12 bucks at the grocery. The same amount of sunflower seeds was 1.40...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave The Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
My sister was going to make Stove Top stuffing for Thanksgiving and even though I don't usually care for it, I really didn't want that. Did a quick search and decided to try this. OMG! Really good! But not a quick dish. So I adjusted some things a bit. I cooked the sausage & thick cut, peppered bacon and the onion & celery all the night before. Stored it all in a container refridgerated overnight. The next day added the rest of the ingredients as recipe dictates. I did consider omitting the pine nuts due to the expense however they are totally worth it. A bit soggy but I should've used the entire french bagette instead of worrying about following the measurements to the letter. I added Oregano, white pepper & garlic salt along with the spices as listed. Not sure it needed all the butter on top. Lots of left over so it can be served as a good breakfast dish with an egg over easy on top. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This is probably the best stuffing I've ever had. This completely out-classed everything else on the dinner table this Christmas. The only change I made, saving time for myself, was to use a bag of cornbread stuffing w/out seasoning in place of crumbled cornbread. It was so good I was handing out the recipe like it was lottery tickets. awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I made this stuffing last year for Thanksgiving and I absolutely loved the flavor. I have been craving it and can't wait for Thanksgiving this year. (It seems to be the only time I make stuffing)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Sorry to leave a poor review. This was far to spicy and greasy for us. Yes I cut down the spices to 1/3 of the recipe and drained the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTEL2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I have never made home-made stuffing before and after looking up dozens, this one stood out, I made it a few months before Thanksgiving to "test" it out and it was a fantastic hit! I'll be making it for Thanksgiving. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was the hit of our Thanksgiving dinner. I used Pepperidge Farms cornbread stuffing instead of making my own cornbread. Next year I'll use real cornbread. Other than that, I followed the recipe. It is definitely time consuming so next time I'll start prep two days ahead. Well worth the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States