Southern Hollandaise Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
It was realy good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyKathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chelmsford, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I also found it had too much lemon...only half is needed and also too much water. I only used half the water. Manny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
My Christmas Brunch consisted of this lovely sauce *extremely decadent and luscious*! **Absolutely be sure to use unsalted butter and add at the very end to avoid over-salting***. I did not do that this first try around and went a little too heavy handed to my taste but that's my own error (the man loved it). This recipe is so simple! I am very organic/non-GMO and hormone free/free range exploring and experimenting and this fits so well. Personally i added baby kale (organic) with my Traditional Yule Eggs Benedict. this sauce could be easily used w/ nearly everything and will be a rare treat for us but so very anticipated. Thank you and your late Grandmother for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChellyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
A little more lemon flavor than I would have like, and I would add less water the next time so it would thicken quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This was really flavorful and tasty. I had never made or even eaten hollandaise sauce before that I know of but a reviewer of a salmon cakes recipe I wanted to make suggested serving with a lemon sauce recipe found on this site and I thought, yum, lemony sauce!... I placed the egg in a bowl set on a steam basket over a pan of boiling water and after 5 minutes it still wasn't thickening so I poured the mixture into a little saucepan and stirred it constantly over low heat (2 out of 10 heat setting). I took about 5 minutes to start thickening but it came out great! I tossed in a little parsley at the end to make it look nice like the picture on here. It is perfect for fish cakes or broiled fish. For eggs or other purposes, you may want to reduce the lemon if you don't want the sauce to be a little lemony. But I definitely feel that this is a restaurant quality sauce, although simple. This was not hard to make and worth the effort. Into my recipe box it goes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Very nice sauce! I think I'll do a bit of a bigger pinch of cayenne next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Just made this right now. It was so delicious....and melt in your mouth kind of food. It was quick and easy to make. Ate this with a sunny side-up egg. This was my first time making it and would definitely make again and again and AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BubblySheep

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
turns out perfect every time, by far my favorite recipe for hollandaise on here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eye2une2a440

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Love it. It's just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I'm rather obsessed with eggs benedict and the hollandaise sauce is what makes it or breaks it. Your's was perfect! Easy to do at home, and the cayenne was the perfect touch! Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Hollandaise Sauce

Learn the simple tricks to perfect hollandaise sauce.

Blender Hollandaise Sauce

For perfect Hollandaise sauce, break out the blender!

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States