Southern Hollandaise Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LAURCL
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This is easy to understand and follow. The flavor is great. As with any natural flavoring, it's going to vary depending on what you have. If the lemons are tart, you may need less, which is why the suggestion to add at the end is there. Ours came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Really delicious and one of the easiest hollandaise sauce recipes. I loved how lemony it was. Definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rehoboth Beach, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Didn't have a double boiler so added water and butter in a pan on low on oven until melted through and slowly added in egg yolks and it worked out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
WOW! Talk about a recipe that FINALLY got it RIGHT! Awesome taste and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALLYSPORTGRL

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Freaking AMAZING! I served it over biscuit, swiss cheese and a poached egg. Thank you for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflowerluver1277

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Thank you for sharing this recipe. I didn't realize how easy ths would be to prepare and how much flavor it adds to ordinary meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Definitely a keeper. Half a lemon was perfect for me. I used Louisiana Hot Sauce instead of cayenne. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Perfect! I have tried and tried to make a good hollandaise sauce and they never tasted quite right...until now. I only put 1 teaspoon of lemon and it was perfect for me. =) Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gillette, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This was my first time making hollandaise and it came out GREAT! I found that as the sauce sat the lemon flavor intensified, so next time I will add a little less. I kept squeezing some in from a fresh lemon so I'm not sure exactly how much I used. I think the best way to judge is taste and if it's just about there, let it sit 5 minutes and it will be perfect. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly and it was as good as you can get (better in some cases!) in any restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Finger licking good. Served with asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Hollandaise Sauce

Learn the simple tricks to perfect hollandaise sauce.

Blender Hollandaise Sauce

For perfect Hollandaise sauce, break out the blender!

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States