Southern Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Awesome just the way it is! This is a family staple now. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Loved the gumbo! The only thing that I didn't like is that when I was making the roux I had to add about three cups of chicken broth, otherwise the roux would have burned. Other than that, the gumbo was great. Happy Eating!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Wasn't really impressed I have had true southern gumbo before and just wasn't the same
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This was my first time making gumbo, I wanted it to be perfect by the time my boyfriend comes back from Afghanistan. Only thing I did different is that I add two cups and two cups of beef broth. Thank you for the recipe, it came out great all my friends loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Absolutely delicious! Made it strictly by the recipe, but served over rice. Will definately be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARENDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pocahontas, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
If you have trouble doing okra because it's "slimy". Saute your frozen or fresh sliced okra in a little butter, stirring it, until it stops "roping". (You will see what I mean). I plan to use this recipe tonight, as a guide......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This recipe was easy to follow, and it turned out delicious. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Eerily similar to Paula Dean's version. By eerily I mean exactly the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HornsUp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
My first time trying Gumbo!! Loved it. Served it over cooked rice. Excellent as is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This Recipe came out GREAT !!!! and you should add okra, it taste so good with it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States