Southern Grits Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
Easy, good enough to serve company for dinner with whole grilled sausages thrown on top, salade and/or roll. Leftovers I used for breakfast. Needs a bit more salt I think than recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
I made this for a work breakfast party we had. Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. I had to cook it longer than 30 minutes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
We're always looking for brunch recipes, and this was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
These were a hit! I made this casserole for a ladies breakfast, and all the southern ladies dove right in! Even the northerners ate it too! I had reduced the servings by 1/2 and it turned out wonderful. I would however, add more cheese into the grits/sausage mixture. This will be a keeper. I've eaten some leftovers with a salad & roll for lunch. This would make a nice light supper dish too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
This was a good recipe, it tasted like cheese grits with sausage in them, but not something I would call extraordinary. The only warning is that is completely fills a 9x13 pan and it is alot of food, so scale down the recipe if you are making this for only a few people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
This was a great recipe. I made it for christmas breakfast. My husband and family loved it .It makes alot for full recipe but it's still great when reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
This quickly became a family favorite. I was even asked to make it for Christmas morning, foregoing a 25 year tradition of serving a different egg casserole. People not fond of grits like it, and leftovers are great. My youngest daughter claims it is even better the second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2004
Very good breakfast casserole. I recommend that the grits have a thick consistency before adding the other ingredients. Mine turned out a little runny, but the taste was good, nevertheless. Recommend for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
I made this for church pot luck. Everyone loved it. The flavor was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
This was really good. I did use egg beaters in place of the eggs as well as reduced fat sausage & cheese. I also added some minced garlic & a can of green chiles. Served this at brunch & everyone loved it. They never even knew that I had "lightened" the recipe...and I didn't tell, either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States