Southern Grits Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I have made grits casserole as a Christmas tradition for two decades and my family agreed that this recipe was even better than the one I normally use. I strongly recommend using stone-ground grits if you can find them; the difference is remarkable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This was great, but I prefer just plain old grits...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
This was a pretty good recipe. Quick and simple. I used smoked sausage instead because its all I had and I reduced the eggs by a few as well (like an earlier person stated). Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
Best ever grits casserole! The light scrambling of eggs prior to mixing into grits makes for great texture. No doubt a 5 star recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Very good a big hit at the office. I did make a few changes however.I use light velveta rather than cheddar and topped with pilsbury biscuits. I then adjust the oven temp and cooking time to that suggested in the biscuit directions. Serve with homemade jam or preserves on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weims

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trion, Georgia, USA
Living In: Summerville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
This was good, quick recipe, and if you like grits, you will love this. I cut the recipe in half, and it turned out well. The grits were light and fluffy with a buttery taste to it, and it kept hot for a while (so it's good for brunches and the like). In place of the sausage, I used some leftover ham steaks that I had fried up. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
I was a little disappointed in this. It was okay, but not as good as I'd hoped it would be. I halved the recipe for four people and still had enough for one of my guests to take home, and for us to eat the next day. It makes a LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
This is one of my familys favorites & we don't normally like grits. I do, however, cut the eggs to 6 and the milk to 1/4 cup as IMO it's too eggy with 12. But other than my personal taste, this casserole is a keeper. My family eats it with a good shake of tobasco sauce - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tito Sheindlin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodward, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This was good. I substituted the ground pork sausage with ground turkey sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
At the request of the recipe submitter, we have updated this recipe to include a step for lightly scrambling the eggs before mixing into the grits! - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States