Southern Grits Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This recipe was a huge hit at a faculty breakfast. The trick is to season the grits with lots of salt and butter until the grits taste good before adding the remaining ingredients. After reading some of the reviews, I decided to use eight eggs, instead of (12). I will definitely serve this dish again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I made this for a baby shower and it turned out great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
This is sooo yoummy! I just wanted to say to a previous reviewer that you are right when you say this dish is a bit time consumming. But in the south, a lot of times this is a dish that is normally made from leftovers. After a big breakfast of sausage, eggs and grits, and sometimes bacon, all is mixed up together and reheated as a casserole the next day. It is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Even though the flavor of this dish is good,it was time consuming to make. After making the grits,sausage and scrambled eggs in pans separately,it seemed silly to mix together and dirty another dish,then wait for it to bake. Maybe I was just hungry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I've made this recipe twice. The first time, I halved it, and used only 4 eggs based on other reviews. I added a lot of garlic salt and hot sauce, because I wouldn't make any other egg casserole with out adding some seasonings. Also, I used a really delicious sausage that has bacon in it. I'm from Iowa, and we love our pork! My husband begged me to make it again. The second time I used all the eggs, and we didn't like it as well. So, a very good recipe, but we liked it better with a few alterations. We enjoyed trying something different than our regular breakfast casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Ella, you know I love this casserole. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahlangston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I made this for a family brunch, and while everybody ate it, nobody thought it was fantastic, or even really good. very bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by counterjester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camden, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I made this recipe as written to serve 16 and I barely had a full spoon of left overs. I was feeding only 10 people and had 3 other large dishes just in case this one didnt workout. I prepared the recipe as listed and next time I will take the advice of other reviewers and half the amount of eggs from 12 to 6 a little too eggy for my liking. I also want to add something spicy like cayenne or red pepper flakes for a little heat. The GREAT part is that I was feeding a bunch of southern grits eaters and the dish was a huge hit at Easter Brunch. Old dogs can learn new tricks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
For an easy potluck brunch dish, this is a winner. Got rave reviews and no leftovers! The key is to salt the boiling water before adding the grits. Once grits are cooked, you have to add tons of salt to get any flavor. Also, I accidently overscrambled the eggs, but adding a touch of milk to the casserole seemed to correct the problem
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This was very good. I threw it all in the crockpot once combined and it turned out great. Made it again 2 weeks later and added crumbled bacon. I think that was better than the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SABRINAWRIGHT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States