Southern Grilled Barbecued Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
My mother was bugging me about how to cook the ribs she got, I found this recipe and I am very pleased! I didnt have 2 roasting pans, so I just cut the 2 slabs and put it into 1 pan with the vinegar mixture, added a bit of liquid smoke and basted a bit more often than once. The sauce was terrific! I was running low on reg. mustard so I substituted Stadium Ballpark Mustard (only made in Ohio)and also added liquid smoke. The sauce came out nice and tangy, but not too sweet or hot (Im a spicy lover but everyone here is not) Used with a cheap cut of ribs so the meat wasnt as tender as I had hoped, but the way they were cooked made all the difference. My picky 6 year old even ate them. RAVE REVIEWS :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Awesome ribs! We were skeptical of the BBQ sauce, but when it was all done and on the ribs it was great. I will probably use the sauce recipe for chicken in the future. We will use this recipe again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoGatorWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Made for dinner tonight and everyone loved it! Went crazy about the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RILEYMOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I never made ribs before trying this recipe, but I followed the suggestion in OSORKIN's review to bake with added spices for 45min., then remove the foil and continue baking until the liquid evaporates. Hubby finished them on the grill the next day, and everyone raved! Prebaking allows them to cook long enough so that they are not tough, as has been the case when our friends have tried making ribs at home! A huge success for us with our guests! Thank you for helping to make us look like amazing cooks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
These are amazing! I chose the hottest day of the year to make ribs, and I wasn't about to die outside grilling, so I just baked them. Heeded the warnings about them being "Too Vinegar'y" and only filled the 1/3 measuring cup about halfway with the Red Wine Vinegar. In the water / vinegar mix, I added 2 bay leaves and garlic powder. (Baked just short of 2 hours, uncovering after an hour and basted a couple times). For the sauce, I also cut the white vinegar to about 1/3 cup, used SPICY BROWN mustard, and instead of hot pepper sauce, I used a pinch of Penzey's Hot Cajun season, then added 2 tbs honey. Baked for about 45 minutes more, basting a couple of times with sauce (and added a bit of Famous Dave's Rich & Sassy, as well). WILL MAKE AGAIN!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
This was SO much better than the "Barbecue Ribs" recipe I tried on this site. This recipe is tangy and not TOO sweet, like the other recipe. If you don't like "candied meat" then this recipe is for you. Great base for the sauce, you can add whatever spices or heat you prefer. I used raspberry red wine vinegar instead of cider. I didn't have cider vinegar and I wanted to get rid of the raspberry vinegar. I added garlic powder, smoked paparika I bought from a gourmet store, and a few dried hot peppers. I also boiled the ribs for an hour and skipped the vinegar baking step. They were a hit with my family! For those that complained the sauce is too thin, just simmer for awhile on the stove with no lid on the pan. I changed a few things, but I'm sure it would still be great if followed exactly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I was looking forward to this recipe. I feel a big let down. My ribs turned out tough. I've tried many rib recipes from this site. I like vinegar but there was way too much! The kids were saying it smelled bad. The sauce did not thicken, it was runny and bland. I think that seasoning the ribs, also maybe rapping them individually in foil would help the flavor and toughness issues. Sorry... I generally hate giving bad reviews. This one wasn't for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I use the bbq sauce recipe part of this recipe as my base. I add 2 tablespoons of honey, 1 teaspoon of black pepper, 1 teaspoon of garlic powder, Minced onion and instead of the called for mustard I use 1 tablespoon of prepared ground mustard. This is a basic flavorful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allegan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
this was my first shot at ribs, I made them for the mother and mother-to-be on mother's day and they said that I was hosting the dinners from now on..lol..the only thing to note was that when I adjusted the recipe for 6lbs of ribs...the amount of BBQ sauce I made was waaaay more than we needed...I had no clue what to do will all that BBQ sauce!!! I double checked the recipe to make sure we weren't supposed to cook the ribs in the sauce, found out we weren't. I used it to baste repeatedly and even put the ribs on a platter and then poured it over, and I still had more than half the amount...the food itself though was absolutly delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Scott's Amazing Whiskey Grilled Baby Back Ribs

Discover the secret to impossibly tender, fall-off-the-bone BBQ ribs.

Grilled BBQ Short Ribs

Discover the secret to incredibly tender grilled ribs with almost no cleanup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States