Southern Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I picked up a bird from Cosco and made this recipe to go with it. Subbed a white onion for the red. Easy and delicious, even though I forgot to add the balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Lee Gunn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
grade A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I was looking for a recipe to enjoy our first batch of fresh green beans out of the garden, and opted to try this one -- we weren't disappointed! Easy and delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myrrhnash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Wonderful! A perfect summer side dish made even better with fresh vegetables from the local farmer's market. I had Vidalia onions and regular red potatoes on hand which I substituted in and increased the chicken broth as recommended by prior reviews, and the result was deliciously delightful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Cobb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Very good! I used regular balsamic vinegar, and it was great. Took a lot longer to cook than ten minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Being a vegetarian, I substituted imitation ham flavoring for the chicken broth and Earth Balance for the butter. Tasted very close to what the elderly women in my family always made for family gathering at my grandmother's house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RVBH62
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Really good! Only thing I changed was to put the bacon in at the end so it wasn't soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Delicious! I too used more chicken broth. After I sautéed the onion and garlic, I sautéed the slices of potato to brown them, then I added in the chicken broth. I let the potatoes cook in the broth until it reduced and added in more broth so that I could add in the fresh green beans. I then let the beans get crisp-done and it was perfect. I sprinkled the balsamic vinegar and crispy bacon pieces on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States