Southern Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
My husband loved it so much that he finished all by himself in two setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by peanutsgma
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This was excellent , I made it with Brussel sprouts instead of green beans.I added Herbes De Provence, the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I made as stated, no white balsamic vinegar so used red wine vinegar. OMG! what a flavor combination. The red wine vinegar gave it a subtle deliciousness that IMO B. V. would not have given. YUM! I also baked it in the oven for 15 min in a covered dish at 350*. Perfect with meatloaf. This combo will definitely be a repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Downs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
As others noted, I sauted my potatoes, onions, and garlic in a little of the bacon grease. (I probably drained off about 2/3rds of it.). Then added the beans and chicken broth, covered and cooked until the beans and potatoes were tender. I omited the vinegar, stirred in the crumbled bacon and served. It had a really great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
The star of the show! I added this as an afterthought at the family Christmas dinner, and it ended up being the favorite dish. Instead of the butter, I simply used the bacon grease left from cooking the bacon. I gave the potatoes and onions a little head start before adding the beans. I only thought I had a good green bean recipe before....now I KNOW I have a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
The green beans were very good and I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tynika Williams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Love this. I use precooked bacon from trader joes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This was just so incredibly bland. My husband and I agreed that it really didn't taste like anything at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I tried dumping out the bacon grease and replacing it with virgin olive oil to make it a little more healthy. I may keep a little bacon grease next time. Some seasoning salt instead of reg. salt did the trick! Overall great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Briana Hollins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This turned out much more intersecting than I anticipated. I left the bacon in rather large pieces (1/2") so they were noticeable tasty bits. I also added a hot pepper from the garden that gave it extra zip. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States